Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The Definitive Collection

Album: The Definitive Collection
# Song Title   Time
1)    My Guy Single Version More Info... 2:51
2)    You Beat Me To The Punch Single Version (Mono) More Info... 2:44
3)    Two Lovers Single Version (Mono) More Info... 2:45
4)    Your Old Stand By Single Version More Info... 2:41
5)    What's Easy For Two Is So Hard For One Single Version More Info... 2:51
6)    Operator Single Version More Info... 2:44
7)    Laughing Boy Single Version More Info... 2:50
8)    Once Upon A Time Single Version / Mono More Info... 2:32
9)    I Don't Want To Take A Chance Single Version (Mono) More Info... 2:47
10)    The One Who Really Loves You Single Version More Info... 2:30
11)    You Lost The Sweetest Boy Single Version More Info... 2:29
12)    Old Love (Let's Try It Again) Single (Mono - First Version) More Info... 2:19
13)    Two Wrongs Don't Make A Right Single Version More Info... 2:47
14)    What Love Has Joined Together Single Version More Info... 2:54
15)    Oh Little Boy (What Did You Do To Me) Single Version More Info... 2:37
16)    What's The Matter With You Baby Single Version / Mono More Info... 2:27
17)    Whisper You Love Me Boy Single Version More Info... 2:40
18)    Bye Bye Baby Single Version More Info... 2:52
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Liner Note Author: David Ritz.
  • Mary Wells' greatest success came with Motown Records, climaxing in her enduring 1964 hit "My Guy," and for most, the story ends there. Wells left Motown after "My Guy" and signed with 20th Century, which by all accounts was a disaster, and she left 20th Century in 1965 for Atlantic subsidiary Atco Records, where she remained until 1967. She released four singles for Atco -- the first of which, "Dear Lover," did fairly well -- and one LP before parting company with the label. But the fact remains that Wells, who was Motown's first big star, will forever be linked with the Detroit label. This set, which features the best sides Wells did for Motown, including, of course, "My Guy," as well as other Top 40 hits like Wells' own "Bye Bye Baby" (Wells wrote it when she was only 17 and had her first hit with it in 1961) and the Smokey Robinson-penned (and produced) "You Beat Me to the Punch" and "The One Who Really Loves You," sets the stage pretty well. Blessed with a singing voice that could somehow be sweet and sincere even as it was sexy and sassy (and sometimes all of that at once), Wells, in a fair and equitable world, really should have been able to sustain her career at the top of the charts longer than she did. Life (and the music business) goes where it goes, though, and this anthology really does have her best stuff. ~ Steve Leggett
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop
Home » Music » R&B » General
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Definitive Collection on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top