Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The Definitive Collection

New or Used: 5 copies from $13.00
Album: The Definitive Collection
# Song Title   Time
1)    Do It Again Album Version More Info... 5:55
2)    Dirty Work Album Version More Info... 3:08
3)    Reelin' In The Years Album Version More Info... 4:34
4)    Bodhisattva Album Version More Info... 5:17
5)    My Old School Album Version More Info... 5:44
6)    Rikki Don't Lose That Number Album Version More Info... 4:33
7)    Black Friday Album Version More Info... 3:40
8)    Bad Sneakers Album Version More Info... 3:20
9)    Kid Charlemagne Album Version More Info... 4:39
10)    Deacon Blues Album Version More Info... 7:33
11)    Peg Album Version More Info... 3:56
12)    FM Edit More Info... 4:50
13)    Hey Nineteen Album Version More Info... 5:05
14)    Babylon Sisters Album Version More Info... 5:52
15)    Cousin Dupree More Info... 5:26
16)    Things I Miss The Most More Info... 3:57
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Walter Becker (vocals, guitar, electric guitar, harmonica, electric bass); David Palmer (vocals, background vocals); David Palmer (vocals); Amy Helm (whistling); Jeff Baxter (guitar, pedal steel guitar, Spanish guitar); Hugh McCracken (guitar, piano); Dean Parks, Elliott Randall, Jay Graydon, Larry Carlton, Lee Ritenour , Rick Derringer, Steve Khan (guitar); Ben Benay (acoustic guitar); Tom Scott (flute, alto clarinet, saxophone, lyricon); Pete Christlieb (flute, saxophone, tenor saxophone); Jim Horn, Plas Johnson (flute, saxophone, horns); Jackie Kelso, Wayne Shorter, Bill Perkins (flute, saxophone); George Marge, Walter Kane (bass clarinet); Ernie Watts, John Rotella, Lanny Morgan (saxophone); Randy Brecker (trumpet, flugelhorn); Michael Leonhart (trumpet); Chuck Findley, Dick Hyde (brass, horns); Lew McCreary (brass); John Klemmer, Bob Findley (horns); Ted Baker (piano, Fender Rhodes piano); David Paich, Michael Omartian (piano, keyboards); Jon Herington (piano); Don Grolnick (electric piano, Clavinet, keyboards); Paul Griffin (electric piano, keyboards, background vocals); Jeff Porcaro (drums, percussion); Leroy Clouden, Rick Marotta, Bernard "Pretty" Purdie, Keith Carlock (drums); Errol Crusher Bennett, Steve Gadd , Gary Coleman, Gordon Gottlieb (percussion); Gordon Grody, Clydie King, Sherlie Matthews, Diva Gray, Patricia Hall, Royce Jones, Michael Fennelly, Zack Saunders, Leslie Miller, James Rolleston, Lani Groves, Michael McDonald , Patti Austin, Timothy B. Schmit, Toni Wine, Venetta Fields, Walt Weiskopf, Myrna Matthews, Frank Floyd, Carolyn Leonhart (background vocals); Donald Fagen (vocals, piano, electric piano, Fender Rhodes piano, organ, Wurlitzer organ, keyboards, synthesizer, background vocals); Jim Hodder (vocals, drums, percussion); Denny Dias (guitar, electric sitar); Jerome Richardson (tenor saxophone); Snooky Young (flugelhorn); Victor Feldman (electric piano, keyboards, vibraphone, marimba, percussion).
  • Audio Mixers: Roger Nichols ; Elliot Scheiner; Barney Perkins.
  • Recording information: A&R Studios, New York, NY; ABC Recording Studios, Inc., Los Angeles, CA; Armand Steiner Soundlabel, Studio 55, New York, NY; Automated Sound Studios, New York, NY; Bearsville Studios, Bearsville, New York, NY; Capitol Studios, Hollywood, CA; Clinton Sound, New York, NY; Electric Lady, New York, NY; Hyperbolic Sound, Maui, Hawaii; Producer's Workshop, Hollywood, CA; River Sound, New York, NY; Sear Sound Studios, New York, NY; Sigma Sound Studios, New York, NY; Skyline Studios, New York, NY; Sound Labs, Hollywood, CA; Soundworks, New York, NY; The Village Recorder, Los Angeles, CA; Warner Bros. Recording Studios, North Hollywood, CA.
  • Photographers: Ed Caraeff; Henry Diltz.
  • Arrangers: Walter Becker; Donald Fagen.
  • Released in 2006, THE DEFINITIVE COLLECTION is a handsome repackaging of 16 of Steely Dan's finest moments. Featuring a cover design that perfectly captures both the sophistication and the off-kilter seediness of group masterminds Walter Becker and Donald Fagen, the collection goes heavy on the hits, including such wry pop gems as "Reelin' In the Years," "FM," "Hey Nineteen," and the delightfully funky "Peg." While Steely Dan can be a tricky band to pin down--displaying both a genuine love of pure pop and a cool detachment that can border on aloof--Becker and Fagan's amazing ability to blend pop's myriad forms into a smooth sound unmistakably their own remains striking decades after the music's original release. With a songwriting approach nearly academic in its precision, the Dan's mix of jazz, pop, funk, and rock is a mash-up for a pre-digital era: postmodern fusion music by way of the Brill Building. And while there are several quality Dan comps on the market to make that case, the DEFINITIVE COLLECTION is as concise a display of the band's virtues as one can find.
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Definitive Collection on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top