Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Deluxe Edition

Album: Deluxe Edition
# Song Title   Time
1)    Peter Gunn
2)    That Did It
3)    Chicago Smokeshop
4)    Mrs. Pressure
5)    Ain't No Business
6)    Blues for Jimmy Nolen - (previously unreleased)
7)    Nickel and a Nail, A
8)    Matthew
9)    You Can't Judge a Book by the Cover
10)    Beer Drinking Woman
11)    Flash Chordin'
12)    These Arms of Mine
13)    Whiplash
14)    When a Guitar Plays the Blues
15)    Hawaiian Punch
16)    Last Word, The - (previously unreleased)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Roy Buchanan (vocals, guitar); Johnny Sayles, Otis Clay, Delbert McClinton, Kanika Kress (vocals); Criss Johnson, Donald Kinsey (guitar); Bill Heid, Stan Szelest (keyboards); Larry Exum (bass); Morris Jennings (drums).
  • Producers: Roy Buchanan, Bruce Iglauer, Dick Shurman, Justin Niebank.
  • Compilation producers: Bruce Iglauer, Bob DePugh, David Forte.
  • Recorded at Streeterview Studios, Chicago, Illinois between 1985 & 1987. Includes liner notes by Bruce Iglauer.
  • Digitally remastered by Brian Jensen & Bruce Iglauer (MonsterDisc, Chicago, Illinois).
  • Personnel: Roy Buchanan (vocals, guitar); Delbert McClinton, Kanika Kress, Johnny Sayles, Otis Clay (vocals); Criss Johnson, Donald Kinsey (guitar); Stan Szelest, Bill Heid (keyboards); Morris Jennings (drums).
  • Audio Mixers: David Axelbaum; Tim Hale.
  • Recording information: Streeterville Studios, Chicago, IL.
  • Photographer: Larry Kodani.
  • The third non-crossed licensed anthology from the master guitarist focuses on his three-album stint at Chicago's blues-based Alligator Records. The artist considered the music he made during his 1985-1987 association with the label the most honest of his career. Since he received complete creative control on these discs, his 1988 suicide, a short year after Hot Wires -- one of Roy Buchanan's best albums ever -- was released, makes his untimely death even more shocking. With its 16 tracks -- two previously unreleased -- almost evenly divided between instrumentals and (predominantly) guest vocals shared by Otis Clay, Delbert McClinton, and Johnny Sayles (Buchanan tentatively and gruffly talks/sings three selections), this is not only a terrific overview of the musician's astounding guitar virtuosity, but a sad coda to a short yet intense career that never broke him through to a wide audience. "You know I ain't broke, but I'm badly bent" are not only lyrics to "Ain't No Business," but also the sad state of affairs the artist found himself in as he was recording his final disc. With a completely unique guitar style that effortlessly shifted from a crying moan (as in the opening bars) to his cover of Otis Redding's "These Arms of Mine" to a raging howl -- exemplified by the thumping take on Willie Dixon's "You Can't Judge a Book by the Cover" -- Buchanan effectively covered all the blues-soul-rock bases with passion, integrity, and class. His economy of style is obvious in the concentrated 2:29 track (and appropriately titled) instrumental "Whiplash." Although the guitarist's material was often subpar on his two previous labels, the music he recorded during these three years was top-notch, and consistently throbbed with his trademarked rugged, steely tone. While he occasionally stooped to slinging out a wild flurry of fret-shredding cacophony, as in the middle of "Peter Gunn," just to provide proof of his jaw-dropping abilities, Buchanan more frequently kept those more ostentatious impulses in check. There's none of the gospel and low-key country he often dipped into during his Polydor years, yet the essence of those genres is imbedded in his blues and R&B work here. This Alligator Deluxe Edition features rare photos, adequate track information, and a heartfelt remembrance penned by label boss Bruce Iglauer. At 61 minutes, only its playing time is questionable, since there easily could have been another quarter-hour of music added. Still, for those who need a concise compilation of Roy Buchanan's phenomenal skills with no filler, this handy disc fits the bill. ~ Hal Horowitz
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Blues
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Deluxe Edition on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top