SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Sell Your Old Stuff for Cash. It's Easy & Free to List. Get Started Now.

Director's Cut [Deluxe Edition]

Album: Director's Cut [Deluxe Edition]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Flower of the Mountain
2)    Song of Solomon, The
3)    Lily
4)    Deeper Understanding
5)    Red Shoes, The
6)    This Woman's Work
7)    Moments of Pleasure
8)    Never Be Mine
9)    Top of the City
10)    And So is Love
11)    Rubberband Girl
1)    Sensual World, The
2)    Love and Anger
3)    Fog, The
4)    Reaching Out
5)    Heads We're Dancing
6)    Deeper Understanding
7)    Between A Man And A Woman
8)    Never Be Mine
9)    Rocket's Tail
10)    This Woman's Work
11)    Walk Straight Down the Middle
1)    Rubberband Girl
2)    And So is Love
3)    Eat the Music
4)    Moments of Pleasure
5)    Song of Solomon, The
6)    Lily
7)    Red Shoes, The
8)    Top of the City
9)    Constellation of the Heart
10)    Big Stripey Lie
11)    Why Should I Love You?
12)    You're the One
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • During her early career, Kate Bush released albums regularly despite her reputation as a perfectionist in the studio. Her first five were released within seven years. After The Hounds of Love in 1985, however, the breaks between got longer: The Sensual World appeared in 1989 and The Red Shoes in 1993. Then, nothing before Aerial, a double album issued in 2005. It's taken six more years to get The Director's Cut, an album whose material isn't new, though its presentation is. Four of this set's 11 tracks first appeared on The Sensual World, while the other seven come from The Red Shoes. Bush's reasons for re-recording these songs is a mystery. She does have her own world-class recording studio, and given the sounds here, she's kept up with technology. Some of these songs are merely tweaked, and pleasantly so, while others are radically altered. The two most glaring examples are "Flower of the Mountain" (previously known as "The Sensual World") and "This Woman's Work." The former intended to use Molly Bloom's soliloquy from James Joyce's novel Ulysses as its lyric; Bush was refused permission by his estate. That decision was eventually reversed; hence she re-recorded the originally intended lyrics. And while the arrangement is similar, there are added layers of synth and percussion. Her voice is absent the wails and hiccupy gasps of her youthful incarnation. These have been replaced by somewhat huskier, even more luxuriant and elegant tones. On the latter song, the arrangement of a full band and Michael Nyman's strings are replaced by a sparse, reverbed electric piano which pans between speakers. This skeletal arrangement frames Bush's more prominent vocal which has grown into these lyrics and inhabits them in full: their regrets, disappointments, and heartbreaks with real acceptance. She lets that voice rip on "Lilly," supported by a tougher, punchier bassline, skittering guitar efx, and a hypnotic drum loop. Bush's son Bertie makes an appearance as the voice of the computer (with Auto-Tune) on "Deeper Understanding." On "RubberBand Girl," Bush pays homage to the Rolling Stones' opening riff from "Street Fighting Man" in all its garagey glory (which one suspects was always there and has now been uncovered). The experience of The Director's Cut, encountering all this familiar material in its new dressing, is more than occasionally unsettling, but simultaneously, it is deeply engaging and satisfying. ~ Thom Jurek
Professional Reviews
Spin (p.71) - "She strips down and stretches out the original arrangements into orgasmic psych-folk fantasias."

Entertainment Weekly (p.81) - "[It's] gorgeous: She reclaims 'This Woman's Work'..." -- Grade: B+

The Wire (p.44) - "[T]here's the sense that she is working out these songs, testing them, possibly with a future purpose in mind....An unusual and unexpected triumph."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Director's Cut [Deluxe Edition] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top