Download the Free Fishpond App!
Download on the App Store

Android App on Google play

Already own it?

Sell Yours
Home » Music » World Music » South America/Caribbean » Bossa Nova


Artist: Astrud Gilberto

Elsewhere $20.31 $16.64   Save 18%
Free shipping Australia wide
Ships from USA
Order now for Christmas delivery
Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Label: Verve
Album: Diva
# Song Title   Time
1)    Agua De Beber More Info... 2:20
2)    Bim Bom More Info... 1:51
3)    Tu Mi Delirio More Info... 3:38
4)    The Girl From Ipanema Stereo Version More Info... 5:23
5)    On My Mind More Info... 2:41
6)    Misty Roses More Info... 2:38
7)    Manha De Carnaval More Info... 1:55
8)    Non-Stop To Brazil More Info... 2:26
9)    I Haven't Got Anything Better To Do (No Tengo Nada Mejor...) More Info... 2:56
10)    DUPLICATE - Corcovado (Quiet Nights Of Quiet Stars) More Info... 4:14
11)    Eu E Voce More Info... 2:25
12)    Gentle Rain More Info... 2:23
13)    Summer Samba (So Nice) Edit More Info... 2:39
14)    Berimbau More Info... 2:24
15)    Once Upon A Summertime More Info... 3:04
16)    All That's Left Is To Say Goodbye More Info... 3:13
17)    Dindi Album Version More Info... 2:42
18)    Stay More Info... 2:42
19)    Canoeiro More Info... 1:33
20)    A Certain Sadness More Info... 3:10
21)    Canto de Ossanha (Let Go) More Info... 3:07

Performer Notes
  • Personnel includes: Astrud Gilberto (vocals); Antonio Carlos Jobim (vocals, guitar); Stan Getz (tenor saxophone); Johnny Coles (trumpet); Kai Winding (trombone); Walter Wanderley (piano, organ); Joao Donato (piano); Joe Mondragon (bass); Milton Banana (drums).
  • Producers: Brooks Authur, Creed Taylor.
  • Compilation producer: Bryan Koniarz.
  • Recorded between 1964 & 1969. Includes liner notes by Will Friedwald.
  • This is part of Verve's Diva Series.
  • Personnel: Ant?nio Carlos Jobim (vocals, guitar, piano); Joao Gilberto (vocals, guitar); Linda November, David Omar White, Maretha Stewart, Brooks Arthur (vocals); Toots Thielemans (whistling, guitar, harmonica); Sal DiTroia, Kenny Burrell, Marcos Valle, Barry Galbraith (guitar); Dom Um Romao (berimbau, percussion); Margaret Ross (harp); Leo Kruczek, George Ockner, Joseph Haber, Arnold Eidus, Louis Stone, Paul Winter Consort, Harry Katzman, Gene Orloff, Harry Lookofsky (violin); Dave Schwartz, Dave Mankovitz, Archie Levin, Seymour Berman, Richard Dickler, Harold Coletta (viola); Maurice Bialkin, Harry Wimmer, Maurice Brown , Seymour Barab, Charles McCracken , Harvey Shapiro , Alan Shulman, George Ricci (cello); Seldon Powell (flute, saxophone); Hubert Laws, Bud Shank (flute); Bill Hammond, Phil Bodner, Stan Webb (woodwinds); Joseph Firrantello, Leon S. Cohen (saxophone); Stan Getz (tenor saxophone); Marvin Stamm (trumpet, flugelhorn); Ernie Royal, Johnny Coles, Stu Williamson , Bernie Glow, Jimmy Nottingham (trumpet); Joe Shepley, Burt Collins (flugelhorn); Tony Miranda, James Buffington, Earl Chapin, Ray Alonge (French horn); Mickey Gravine, Kai Winding, Urbie Green, Warren Covington, Wayne Andre (trombone); Tony Studd (bass trombone); Bob Brookmeyer (valve trombone); John Barber (tuba); Benny Aronov (piano, harpsichord, keyboards); Walter Wanderley (piano, organ); Gil Evans, Joao Donato, Warren Bernhardt (piano); Stan Free, Paul Griffin , Frank Owens (keyboards); Gary Burton , George Devens (vibraphone); Bobby Rosengarden (drums, percussion); Frankie Callen, Bill Lavorgna, Al Rogers, Grady Tate, Gene Maharrey, H?lcio Milito, Claudio Slon , Milton Banana, Ron Dante (drums); Jack Jennings, Robert Gregg, Alan Douglas, Airto Moreira (percussion).
  • Liner Note Author: Will Friedwald.
  • Recording information: A&R Studios, New York, NY (03/18/1963-12/17/1969); Carnegie Hall, New York, NY (03/18/1963-12/17/1969); Century Sound Recording Studios, New York, NY (03/18/1963-12/17/1969); Los Angeles, CA (03/18/1963-12/17/1969); New York, NY (03/18/1963-12/17/1969); RCA Studios, Hollywood, CA (03/18/1963-12/17/1969).
  • Illustrator: Gary Kelley.
  • Photographer: Chuck Stewart.
  • Arrangers: Deodato; Don Sebesky; Albert Gorgoni Orchestra; Gil Evans; Marty Paich.
  • Astrud Gilberto, the Brazilian canary with the voice like honey and diction that defied belief, has been compiled many times on Verve, but rarely as well as on her entry in 2003's The Diva Series. A 21-track of her prime decade, the '60s, this one includes all of the classics associated with her: "The Girl From Ipanema," "Agua de Beber," "Corcovado (Quiet Nights of Quiet Stars)," "So Nice (Summer Samba)," and "Dindi." Not all of her LPs have been reissued on CD (in the States), so the compilers also added tracks that may surprise a few Gilberto fans, like "Eu e Voce" and "Canto de Ossanha (Let Go)." ~ John Bush

Format:CD (1 Disc); Stereo
Studio/Live: Studio
Release Date:9 June, 2003
Guest Artist: Stan Getz; Antonio Carlos Jobim
Tell a friend

Their Email:

Sell Yours

Already own this item?
Sell Yours and earn some cash. It's fast and free to list! (Learn More.)

1 review(s)
All Reviews
Ashwin on
Diva series is a great album. The artist has done extremely well in this album and is great to listen to over and over again. Also fishponds great price with free shipping is an magnificent buy. This is one of the best albums by this artist and i highly recommend you to buy this at this great price.

Review this Product


Related Searches


Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners

You can earn a 5% commission by selling Diva on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep!



Are you the Author/Publisher? Improve sales by submitting additional information on this title.


This item ships from and is sold by, Inc.