Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

Sell Your Old Stuff for Cash. It's Easy & Free to List. Get Started Now.

Dixie Chicken

Album: Dixie Chicken
# Song Title   Time
1)    Dixie Chicken
2)    Two Trains
3)    Roll Um Easy
4)    On Your Way Down
5)    Kiss It Off
6)    Fool Yourself
7)    Walkin' All Night
8)    Fat Man in the Bathtub
9)    Juliette
10)    Lafayette Railroad
Product Details


Performer Notes
  • Little Feat: Kenny Gradney (bass instrument); Lowell George, Paul Barr?re, Richie Hayward, Sam Clayton, Bill Payne.
  • Personnel: Lowell George (vocals, guitar, cowbells); Paul Barr?re (vocals, guitar); Bill Payne (vocals, keyboards, synthesizer, percussion); Richie Hayward (vocals, drums); Sam Clayton (vocals, congas, percussion); Deborah Lindsey, Tret Fure, Gloria Jones, Bonnie Bramlett, Bonnie Raitt (vocals, background vocals); Danny Hutton, Stephanie Spruill (vocals); Fred Tackett (guitar, acoustic guitar, mandolin, trumpet); Mick Taylor (guitar); Malcolm Cecil (synthesizer); Milt Holland (tabla, percussion); Stephanie Spurville (background vocals).
  • Additional personnel: Dan Hutton, Debbie Lindsey (background vocals); Stephanie Spurville, Malcolm Cecil, Milt Holland, Tret Fure, Gloria Jones, Fred Tackett, Bonnie Bramlett, Bonnie Raitt.
  • Audio Remasterer: Lee Herschberg.
  • Recording information: Clover Recording Studios, Hollywood, CA.
  • DIXIE CHICKEN is the first album by the most enduring Little Feat line-up: Kenny Gradney replaced departed bassist Roy Estrada, and New Orleans musicians Sam Clayton and Paul Barrere rounded out the new group. This line-up went through periodic break-ups and reunions until the death of Lowell George in 1979. The great Neon Parks album paintings were anticipated almost as much as the next collection from Little Feat, the band with which his work became inextricably linked.
  • This album found them at a musical peak as a stellar 70s rock band who had oodles of swamp blues and funk, with a loose shambling style that spoke of confidence rather than sloppiness. Lowell George was singing better than ever on this collection, notably with the sublime "Roll Um Easy," where his voice was chillingly expressive. Bill Payne and Richie Haywood play their respective keyboard and drums with calm and precision. There are no weak tracks here, and this is another vital album, in keeping with all recordings that featured George.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (4/12/73, p.58) - "..Little Feat never fail to turn the chances they've taken into smooth successes...audacious, ingenious.."

Record Collector (magazine) (p.106) - 5 stars out of 5 -- "Lowell George's best songwriting and maturing leadership were at the heart of the album....Little Feat would never sound as good than they do here."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Dixie Chicken on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top