SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Turn your Clutter Into Cash with SmartSell.TM Book a Courier Pickup Today!

Dobro / Blues And Bluegrass

Album: Dobro / Blues And Bluegrass
# Song Title   Time
1)    Hillbilly Hula Album Version More Info... 0:48
2)    Tennessee Stud Album Version More Info... 3:19
3)    It's Over Album Version More Info... 3:01
4)    Pickaway Album Version More Info... 2:22
5)    Rollin' Fog Album Version More Info... 2:45
6)    Dobro Island Album Version More Info... 3:04
7)    Train 45 Album Version More Info... 3:34
8)    Take Me Album Version More Info... 2:42
9)    Greensleeves Album Version More Info... 2:43
10)    Silver Threads Album Version More Info... 3:46
11)    Rock Bottom Album Version More Info... 2:30
12)    Jamboree Album Version More Info... 2:47
13)    House Of The Rising Sun Album Version More Info... 4:07
14)    New Camptown Races Album Version More Info... 2:09
15)    Mexican Rose Album Version More Info... 2:39
16)    Killing Me Softly Album Version More Info... 2:58
17)    This Ain't Grass Album Version More Info... 2:38
18)    8 More Miles To Louisville Album Version More Info... 2:38
19)    The Sum Of Marcie's Blues Album Version More Info... 3:51
20)    Bottom Dollar Album Version More Info... 2:43
21)    Struttin' The Blues Album Version More Info... 2:08
22)    Panhandle Country Album Version More Info... 2:14
23)    Summertime Album Version More Info... 3:02
24)    Walk Don't Run Album Version More Info... 2:58
25)    Everybody Slides Album Version More Info... 4:19
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • 2 LPs on 1 CD: DOBRO (1972)/BLUES & BLUEGRASS (1974).
  • Personnel includes: Mike Auldridge (vocals, guitar, dobro); Linda Rondstadt (vocals); Ben Eldridge (guitar, banjo); John Duffey, Doyle Lawson (guitar, mandolin); David Bromberg, Charlie Waller, John Starling, Ricky Skaggs, Paul Craft, Gerry Mule, Lowell George (guitar); Buck "Josh" Graves (dobro); Vassar Clements (fiddle); Tom Gray, Bill Yates, Steve Burgh, Tom Guidera (bass); Bob Lawrence (drums).
  • Recorded in New York, York and at Track Recorders, Washington, D.C. in 1972 & 1974. Includes liner notes by Norman Blake and John Crosby.
  • All tracks have been digitally remastered.
  • Personnel: Mike Auldridge (vocals, guitar, dobro).
  • Recording information: New York, NY; Track Recorders, Washington DC.
  • This welcome reissue brings together the first two solo albums by Seldom Scene dobro player Mike Auldridge, each of which was groundbreaking in a different way. While "progressive bluegrass" was already a fully established musical convention by 1972, when Dobro was originally issued, instrumental bluegrass arrangements of material like "Greensleeves" and "House of the Rising Sun" were a bit unusual even in the progressive context, and, to be honest, were not quite as successful as his brilliantly flashy rendition of Lester Flatt's "Pickaway" or the weepy country standard "Silver Threads." The second album presented on this reissue, Blues & Bluegrass, is a bit more consistently rewarding. Most of the tracks are Seldom Scene performances in all but name, with the occasional addition of such stellar guests as Vassar Clements, Ricky Skaggs, and David Bromberg. This album veers happily between barnburning bluegrass ("New Camptown Races," "8 More Miles to Louisville") and soulful blues numbers ("Summertime," "Struttin' the Blues"), with occasional detours into sappy pop ("Killing Me Softly") and, believe it or not, surf-bluegrass fusion ("Walk Don't Run"). All of it manages to be lots and lots of fun. Highly recommended. ~ Rick Anderson
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Dobro / Blues And Bluegrass on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top