Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Don't Look for a Heartache

Album: Don't Look for a Heartache
# Song Title   Time
1)    Dallas
2)    Fair & Square
3)    Deep Eddy Blues
4)    Don't Look for a Heartache
5)    That Hardwood Floor
6)    Just a Wave, Not the Water
7)    Honky Tonk Song
8)    See the Way
9)    White Freight Liner Blues
10)    Beautiful Rose
11)    Ramblin' Man - (previously unreleased)
12)    Rain Just Falls
13)    Red Chevrolet
14)    Honky Tonk Masquerade
15)    When the Nights Are Cold
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Jimmie Dale Gilmore (vocals, guitar); Lloyd Maines (acoustic & electric guitars, steel guitar, dobro, background vocals); Harold Bradley (acoustic guitar, bass); Dale Sellers (electric guitar); Mitch Watkins (guitar, bass); John Inmon, David Halley (guitar); David Briggs (keyboards); Larry Paxton, Linda Shaw (bass); Fred Krc (drums, background vocals); Wes Starr (drums); Joe Ely, Walter Hyatt, Augie Brown (background vocals).
  • Producers: Joe Ely, Bruce Bromberg, Lloyd Maines.
  • Recorded at The Fire Station, San Marcos, Texas; Spur Studios, Austin, Texas and Music City Music Hall, Nashville, Tennessee. Includes liner notes by Rob Patterson.
  • Personnel: Jimmie Dale Gilmore (vocals, guitar, background vocals); David Halley, John Inmon, Mitch Watkins (guitar); Lloyd Maines (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, steel guitar, dobro, background vocals); Harold Bradley (acoustic guitar, bass guitar); Dale Sellers (electric guitar); Paul Glasse (mandolin); Tommy Williams Jr. (fiddle); David Briggs (keyboards); Larry Paxton (acoustic bass, electric bass); Freddie "Steady" Krc (drums, background vocals); Wes Starr, Jerry Kroon (drums); Augie Brown, Joe Ely, Walter Hyatt (background vocals).
  • Audio Mixers: Bill Harris Quintet; James Tuttle ; Little Johnny Fader.
  • Audio Remasterer: Bob Stone.
  • Liner Note Author: Bob Patterson.
  • Recording information: Music City Music Hall, Nashville, TN; Spur Studios, Austin, TX; The Fire Station, San Marcos, TX.
  • Early in his career, Jimmie Dale Gilmore seemed to have a hard time deciding if he wanted to be a honky tonk man or a songwriting Zen Cowboy, and while most of his best albums (most notably the lovely After Awhile) have landed solidly in the latter category, his first two solo records made it clear he knew how to make with the West Texas dancehall sound when he needed to, and could do it up right. Don't Look for a Heartache was compiled from 1988's Fair and Square and 1989's Jimmie Dale Gilmore, both recorded for Hightone at the dawn of Gilmore's solo career when he was using his elliptical lyrical style and trademark wavering tenor in the service of neo-traditional Texas country sounds. While this set doesn't do much to improve on Gilmore's fine self-titled album, it is a more consistent and compelling listen than Fair and Square, and the folks who compiled this disc have managed to harvest most of the best moments from each album and assemble them in a form that serves the material well. (The remastering sounds swell, too, and an unreleased track from the Jimmie Dale Gilmore sessions has been added for good measure; "Rambling Man" falls well short of life-altering, but it's good swinging fun, with solid steel and fiddle work.) While completists and serious fans will want the two original albums, dabblers curious about Gilmore's early releases will be well served with Don't Look for a Heartache, which manages to be contemplative and good fun at the same time. ~ Mark Deming
Professional Reviews
Q (p.136) - 3 stars out of 5 - "Once heard, never forgotten, Gimore's trembling tenor is one of the wonders of country music - the unadulterated Texas kind, that is."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Don't Look for a Heartache on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top