SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Turn your Clutter Into Cash with SmartSell.TM Book a Courier Pickup Today!

Duke Ellington Songbook, Vol. 2 [Remastered]

Album: Duke Ellington Songbook, Vol. 2 [Remastered]
# Song Title   Time
1)    I Ain't Got Nothing But The Blues Album Version More Info... 4:33
2)    Black Butterfly Album Version More Info... 2:59
3)    Chelsea Bridge Album Version More Info... 3:22
4)    What Am I Here For? Album Version More Info... 3:31
5)    Tonight I Shall Sleep (With A Smile On My Face) More Info... 3:55
6)    Rocks In My Bed Album Version More Info... 5:19
7)    I Got It Bad And That Ain't Good Album Version More Info... 4:29
8)    Everything But You Album Version More Info... 5:26
9)    Mood Indigo Album Version More Info... 5:02
10)    It Don't Mean A Thing Album Version More Info... 2:26
11)    Prelude To A Kiss More Info... 5:57
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Sarah Vaughan (vocals); Eddie "Cleanhead" Vinson (alto saxophone); Frank Wess (flute); Waymon Reed (trumpet, flugelhorn); Joe Pass, Bucky Pizzarelli, Peewee Crayton (guitar); Mike Wofford, Jimmy Rowles, Lloyd Gloenn (piano); Andy Simpkins, Bill Walker (bass); Grady Tate, Charles Randell, Roy McCurdy (drums).
  • Recorded at Group IV Studios, Hollywood, and RCA Studios, New York, New York in August & September 1979.
  • Digitally remastered by Joe Tarantino (1987, Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, California).
  • Personnel: Sarah Vaughan (vocals); Eddie "Cleanhead" Vinson (vocals, alto saxophone); Joe Pass, Pee Wee Crayton, Bucky Pizzarelli (guitar); Grady Tate (strings, horns, drums); Frank Wess (flute); Waymon Reed (trumpet, flugelhorn); Jimmy Rowles, Lloyd Glenn, Mike Wofford (piano); Charles Randell, Roy McCurdy (drums).
  • Audio Remixers: Dennis Sands; Joe Tarantion.
  • Liner Note Author: Takao Ogawa.
  • Recording information: Group IV Studios, Hollywood, CA (08/15/1979-09/13/1979); RCA Studios, New York, NY (08/15/1979-09/13/1979).
  • Photographer: Tom Copi.
  • Unknown Contributor Roles: Waymon Reed; Eddie "Cleanhead" Vinson; Frank Wess; Charles Randell; Jimmy Rowles; Joe Pass; Lloyd Glenn; Mike Wofford; Andy Simpkins; Pee Wee Crayton; Roy McCurdy; Bill Walker ; Bucky Pizzarelli.
  • The second of two Pablo CDs featuring Sarah Vaughan interpreting Duke Ellington-associated material shows that the veteran singer never did decline. With assistance from trumpeter Waymon Reed, flutist Frank Wess, Eddie "Cleanhead" Vinson on alto and a surprise vocal, and several overlapping rhythm sections, Sassy sounds in top form throughout this date. Highlights include "I Ain't Got Nothing but the Blues," "Chelsea Bridge," "Rocks in My Bed," "I Got It Bad" and "Mood Indigo" but all 11 numbers are well worth hearing. Both of these well-conceived sets are easily recommended. ~ Scott Yanow
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Duke Ellington Songbook, Vol. 2 [Remastered] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top