Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Eight Classic Albums [Box]

Album: Eight Classic Albums [Box]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Moving Out
2)    Swingin' for Bumsey
3)    Silk 'n' Satin
4)    Solid
5)    More Than You Know
6)    Ee-Ah
7)    B Quick
8)    Two Different Worlds
9)    B Swift
10)    My Ideal
11)    Sonny Boy
1)    There's No Business Like Show Business
2)    Paradox
3)    Raincheck
4)    There Are Such Things
5)    It's All Right with Me
6)    Decision
7)    Bluesnote
8)    Plain Jane
9)    Sonnysphere
10)    How Are Things in Glocca Mora
1)    Valse Hot
2)    Kiss and Run
3)    I Feel a Song Coming On
4)    Count Your Blessings
5)    Pent-Up House
6)    Why Don't I
7)    Wail March
8)    Misterioso
9)    Reflections
10)    You Stepped Out of a Dream
11)    Poor Butterfly
1)    Tenor Madness
2)    When Your Lover Has Gone
3)    Paul's Pal
4)    My Reverie
5)    Most Beautiful Girl in the World, The
6)    St Thomas
7)    You Don't Know What Love Is
8)    Strode Rode
9)    Moritat
10)    Blue 7
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Sonny Rollins (tenor saxophone); Clifford Brown , Donald Byrd (trumpet); Jay Jay Johnson (trombone); Horace Silver, Kenny Drew, Ray Bryant, Red Garland, Richie Powell, Thelonious Monk, Tommy Flanagan, Wynton Kelly (piano); Max Roach, Philly Joe Jones, Art Blakey (drums).
  • Recording information: Rudy Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack, NJ (03/22/1956); Rudy Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack, NJ (04/04/1957); Rudy Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack, NJ (05/24/1956); Rudy Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack, NJ (06/22/1956); Rudy Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack, NJ (08/18/1954); Rudy Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack, NJ (10/25/1954); Rudy Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack, NJ (12/02/1955); Rudy Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack, NJ (12/07/1956); Rudy Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack, NJ (12/16/1956).
  • This is an interesting collection of the European Real Gone Jazz imprint, pairing eight albums by Sonny Rollins on four discs, all of them recorded between 1954 and 1957 -- six from Prestige alongside his first two self-titled outings from Blue Note. The then Young Lion leads dates with personnel ranging from Max Roach and Clifford Brown to Donald Byrd and Thelonious Monk and even John Coltrane. Disc one contains Moving Out and Tour de Force, both recorded for Prestige in 1954 and 1956, respectively. Disc two, oddly enough, features Work Time (Prestige, 1955) and Sonny Rollins (Blue Note, 1956); disc three contains the fine Sonny Rollins Plus Four date from 1956 for Prestige and is compiled with Sonny Rollins, Vol. 2, issued on Blue Note in 1957. The final two recordings, Tenor Madness and Saxophone Colossus, were both issued on Prestige, and cut in 1956. Fans of these recordings no doubt already have them on CD; these versions do not contain the bonus material of later remastered editions and are presented for a budget price. ~ Thom Jurek
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Eight Classic Albums [Box] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top