Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Element of Light [Slipcase] [Parental Advisory]

Album: Element of Light [Slipcase]
# Song Title   Time
1)    If You Were a Priest
2)    Winchester
3)    Somewhere Apart
4)    Ted, Woody and Junior
5)    President, The
6)    Raymond Chandler Evening
7)    Bass
8)    Airscape
9)    Never Stop Bleeding
10)    Lady Waters & the Hooded One
11)    Black Crow Knows, The
12)    Crawling, The
13)    Leopard, The
14)    Tell Me About Your Drugs
15)    Sprinkling Dots
16)    Upside-Down Church Blues
17)    Into It
18)    Neck
19)    Bass
20)    Lady Waters & the Hooded One [Mix I]
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • This reissue of ELEMENT OF LIGHT includes the original album plus four songs that were added as bonuses to the first CD issue, five previously unreleased demos and live tracks, and "The Can Opener," originally released on the 12-inch vinyl EP: IF YOU WERE A PRIEST.
  • Robyn Hitchcock & The Egyptians: Robyn Hitchcock (vocals, guitar, piano, bass, keyboards); Morris Windsor (guitar, drums, percussion, background vocals); Andy Metcalfe (piano, keyboards, bass, drums, percussion, background vocals); Roger Jackson (harmonica, electric piano, organ, keyboards, background vocals).
  • Additional personnel: James Fletcher (saxophone); Chris Cox (trumpet, acoustic bass, percussion).
  • Producers: Robyn Hitchcock, Andy Metcalfe.
  • Reissue producer: Jim Neill.
  • Engineers: Pat Collier, Steve Robertshaw.
  • Originally released on Relativity. Includes liner notes by Grant Alden.
  • Robyn Hitchcock/Robyn Hitchcock & the Egyptians: Robyn Hitchcock (vocals, guitar, piano, keyboards); Morris Windsor (vocals, guitar, keyboards, drums); Andy Metcalfe (vocals, piano, organ, keyboards, bass instrument, drums); Roger Jackson (vocals, keyboards, bass instrument).
  • Personnel: Chris Cox (percussion).
  • Audio Mixers: Jessica Corcoran; Pat Collier; Andy Metcalfe; Robyn Hitchcock.
  • Audio Remasterers: Donal Whelan; Charlie Francis.
  • Recording information: Alaska (1985-1986); Berry Street Studios (1985-1986); Town & Country Club (1985-1986).
  • Photographers: Rosalind Kunath; Jason Hoffman; Paul Natkin.
  • This is Hitchcock's second album with The Egyptians. The band's performance proves that the touring they did prior to this recording helped shape their sound into a surprisingly cohesive force. ELEMENT OF LIGHT is a rich and powerful work that contains some strikingly evocative songs, such as the Lennon-like "Somewhere Apart," the nightscape poetics of "Raymond Chandler Evening," or the UK-meets-Muscle Shoals of "Ted, Woody And Junior."
  • The album's title comes from the song "Airscape," a gorgeously romantic five minutes of hypnotic words and music. The songcraft, mood and musicianship (The Egyptians were a band fully capable of taking the songwriter's varied compositions and playing them to new heights) make ELEMENT OF LIGHT crucial for Hitchcock fans, and an excellent starting point for those unfamiliar with this compelling artist.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Folk
Home » Music » Pop » Folk Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Element of Light [Slipcase] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top