Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed


Album: Emergence
# Song Title   Time
1)    Mahayanna, The (Great Vehicle) (Interlude) - (interlude)
2)    Transformation
3)    Delusion
4)    Emergence
5)    Paramita (To Arrive at the Other Side) Interlude - (interlude)
6)    Libertarian
7)    Changing Lines
8)    Emancipation
9)    Red Light District
10)    Sokoni (From the Sea) Interlude - (interlude)
11)    Equilibrium
12)    2 Bass Interlude - (interlude)
13)    Inner Voice
14)    Kalomo (The Unexpected) Interlude - (interlude)
15)    Matrix
16)    Oji (The Gift Bearer) - (interlude)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Lonnie Plaxico (acoustic & electric basses); Don Braden (soprano & tenor saxophones); Tim Hegarty (tenor saxophone); Ralph Alessi, Larry Lunetta (trumpet); Eric Lewis (acoustic & electric pianos, organ); Jason Moran (piano); Haruko Nara (synthesizer); Lionel Cordew (drums); Jeffrey Haynes (percussion).
  • Recorded at Systems Two Recording Studios, Brooklyn, New York on June 16, 1999. Includes liner notes by Russ Musto.
  • Personnel: Lonnie Plaxico (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, bass guitar); Tim Hegarty (saxophone, tenor saxophone); Don Braden (soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone); Ralph Alessi, Larry Lunetta (trumpet); Eric Lewis (piano, electric piano, organ); Jason Moran (piano); Lionel Cordew (drums, percussion); Jeff Haynes (percussion).
  • Audio Mixer: Michael Marciano.
  • Liner Note Author: Russ Musto.
  • Recording information: System 2 Recording Studio Brooklyn NY (06/16/1999).
  • Photographer: Hitomi Kakuda.
  • Emergence begins with a bang but then goes gradually downhill. Plaxico alternates between acoustic and electric bass, and mightily tries to reconcile the jazz and funk elements of his vision. Although most tracks feature driving rhythms, incredibly intricate horn writing, and compelling solos, the album grows numbingly repetitive as it proceeds.
  • On the jazz side, "Transformation" begins the record with riveting post-bop fire, while "Libertarian" and "Red Light District" provide new perspectives on the standards "Dear Old Stockholm" and "Love for Sale," respectively. On the funk side, "Delusion" and "Emancipation" stand out, recalling the dissonant colors heard on Sam Rivers' acclaimed 1999 album Inspiration. But Plaxico seems to run low on ideas by the time he gets to "Equilibrium," "Inner Voice," and Chick Corea's "Matrix." Six brief interludes featuring bass and/or percussion are interspersed throughout the program, yielding mixed results -- the most effective being "Paramita (to arrive at the other side)."
  • Monster players abound, including the wonderful Don Braden on saxophones, Ralph Alessi on trumpet, and Jason Moran on piano. Emergence is also distinguished by several lesser known but highly capable musicians: Larry Lunetta on trumpet, Tim Hegarty on sax, Eric Lewis on piano and organ, Lionel Cordew on drums, and Jeffrey Haynes on percussion. Haynes produced the interludes, and noted vocalist Cassandra Wilson, for whom Plaxico has served as musical director, produced the main tracks. ~ David R. Adler
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » Bass
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Emergence on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top