SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The Emptiness [Digipak] *

Album: The Emptiness [Digipak] *
# Song Title   Time
1)    Curse of the Virgin Canvas/Interlude One
2)    Artist, The
3)    Lunatic's Lament/Interlude Two, A
4)    Murderer, THe
5)    Hymn for the Shameless
6)    Thespian/Interlude Three, The
7)    Heavy Hangs the Albatross
8)    Lover, The
9)    In Her Tomb by the Sounding Sea
10)    To Be Scared by an Owl/Interlude Four
11)    Annabel
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Shawn Milke (vocals, guitar, piano); Jake Campbell (guitar, background vocals); Julie Coleman, Wendy Goodwin (violin); Nelly Kovalev (viola); Ashley Peck (cello); Jeremy Bryan (drums).
  • Audio Mixer: Kris Crummett.
  • Recording information: Interlace Audio, Portland, OR (07/08/2009-08/18/2009).
  • Editor: Shawn Milke.
  • Illustrator: Patrick Perry.
  • Arranger: Alesana.
  • A concept album based on Annabel Lee, the last complete poem written by Edgar Allen Poe, The Emptiness finds Alesana delivering an album of solid screamo with a decidedly narrative angle. Musically, the album has everything you'd expect from these guys. Harmonized guitar riffs create a moody canvas for the vocals, which alternate from soaring to tortured and back again, to tell their dark tale, with the whole thing punctuated by uplifting choruses and crushing breakdowns. What sets The Emptiness apart from similar albums is the narrative thread that's woven between the songs. The record tells the story of a man known as "The Artist" who wakes up to find his lady love, "Annabel," murdered in his bed. Upon his realization of what's happened, the story spirals into a macabre journey filled with rage, murder, guilt, and insanity. Breaking up the album are four interludes, narrative sections that help to string the listener along from one act to another. Musically, Alesana have created an album that will be a surefire pleaser for fans of the genre. The music captures the swirling tempest of emotions presented in the narrative, almost bordering on theatrical. What might give the album a wider appeal is the fact that Alesana are trying to tell a story (albeit a distinctly emo story) with their album. Whether you're a fan or not, the fact that the band was bold enough to attempt to tame the daunting beast that is the concept album should warrant at least one listen from anyone interested in experiencing this dark musical tale. ~ Gregory Heaney
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Emptiness [Digipak] * on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top