Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Encore [UK]

Album: Encore [UK]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Coming of Kohoutek, The
2)    It's Only Money, Pt. 1
3)    It's Only Money, Pt. 2
4)    God Gave Rock & Roll to You
5)    Thunder and Lightning
6)    Music from The Spheres
7)    I Don't Believe in Miracles
8)    I Am the Dance of Ages
9)    Keep on Rollin'
10)    Hold Your Head Up
11)    Time of the Season
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Argent: Rod Argent (vocals, keyboards); John Verity, John Grimaldi (guitar); Jim Rodford (bass); Bob Henrit (drums).
  • Includes liner notes by Mark Marymont.
  • Argent: James Rodford (vocals, bass guitar); Robert Henrit, Rod Argent, Russ Ballard.
  • Personnel: Russ Ballard (vocals, guitar); Rod Argent (vocals, keyboards); Jim Rodford (vocals, bass guitar); Rick Birkett (guitar); Robert Henrit (drums, percussion); Hugh Grundy (drums).
  • Audio Remixer: Peter Bown.
  • Liner Note Authors: Tom Petty; John Tobler.
  • Recording information: Drury Lane, St. Albans; Swansea.
  • This album, originally released as a double LP in early 1975, was supposed to buy a little time for Argent as the group worked two new members, John Verity and John Grimaldi, into its lineup in the wake of the departure of co-founder Russ Ballard. As a result, it showcased a band that had already evolved out of the sound represented here, which must have seemed a pity for the fans who bought it. The sound captured on this album combines equal measures of progressive rock and hard-driving pop/rock into a whole that never lost its sight on rock & roll, as on "Thunder and Lightning" and "Music of the Spheres," or the more traditional sound of "Keep on Rollin'." With Ballard's guitar and the rhythm section of Jim Rodford (bass) and Bob Henrit (drums), the band could only stray so far from rock, and they and keyboardist Rod Argent, pulling in those opposite directions, ended up creating a scintillating whole on much of this record. Even the extended jams are focused and always maintain some serious forward momentum, though the opener, "The Coming of Kohoutek," comes dangerously close to fatal digression -- one can only quote Berlioz so far before the piece it's in loses its purpose as rock & roll. The 11-minute jam of "Hold Your Head Up" seemed a little excessive at the time -- a reaction probably caused, in part, by the substandard pressings by which the vinyl version of this release was seemingly universally represented -- but it holds up well today. And the band encored with "Time of the Season," a selection with which no one could possibly take serious issue -- they dress it up in some heavily ornamented drumming and guitar, but it's the song everyone knows and loves, done about as well as anyone who was not Colin Blunstone could ever handle it. The Collectables CD reissue boasts about the best sound ever heard on this set, and there's some pretty good annotation by Mark Marymount. ~ Bruce Eder
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
People also searched for
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Encore [UK] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top