Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

The Essential Clannad

Album: The Essential Clannad
# Song Title   Time
1)    I Will Find You (Theme from The Last of the Mohicans)
2)    In a Lifetime
3)    You're the One
4)    Something to Believe In
5)    Robin (The Hooded Man) (Theme from Robin of Sherwood)
6)    Almost Seems (Too Late To Turn)
7)    Broken Pieces
8)    Closer to Your Heart
9)    Why Worry?
10)    Mystery Game
11)    Bridge, A (That Carries Us Over)
12)    Hunter, The
13)    White Fool
14)    There for You
15)    Let Me See
1)    R¡ na Cruinne
2)    Theme from Harry's Game
3)    Caislean Oir
4)    Newgrange
5)    Buachaill ¢n irne
6)    Fad¢
7)    Anam
8)    Coinleach Glas an Fh¢mhair
9)    Laethe Bh¡, Na
10)    Of This Land
11)    T  M‚ Mo Shu¡
12)    Poison Glen
13)    Uirchill an Chreag in
14)    Bridge of Tears, The
15)    Banba Oir
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Although this two-CD Clannad collection is titled Essential, it's not quite an overview of career highlights. It's more a compilation of their most commercially successful period in the 1980s and '90s, with all of the 30 tracks having been recorded between 1982 and 1997. This means there's nothing from the half-dozen albums preceding 1983's Magical Ring, which had a folkier and usually more traditional nature than the ones they did for RCA and Atlantic. However, if this is the decade-and-a-half of Clannad you prefer, or with which you're most familiar, it does a reasonable job of distilling much of their appeal during this era into two discs. Their big U.K. smash "Theme from Harry's Game" is here, of course, as are their smaller TV theme hit "Robin (The Hooded Man)" and their duet with Bono, "In a Lifetime." A duet with Bruce Hornsby ("Something to Believe In") and a track with a guest vocal by Steve Perry ("White Fool") take care of the other celebrity cameos. Overall the material varies between songs close to the band's folk roots; others whose slicker arrangements can make them sound like fusions between Irish folk and adult contemporary or new age music, and even moments on which they verge on mainstream pop ("Closer to Your Heart" doesn't sound much unlike late-'70s Fleetwood Mac). The constant factors distinguishing them from other mainstream artists are the Irish folk elements, which come through strongest in their haunting lead and backup vocals, as well as some of their instrumentation (particularly the harp). It seems like disc two is less commercially oriented than the first CD, with a higher proportion of Irish-language songs, though the programming is smooth enough that fans of Clannad should enjoy most or all of this release. ~ Richie Unterberger
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » World Music » Europe » Celtic
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Essential Clannad on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top