Download the Free Fishpond App!
Download on the App Store

Android App on Google play
The  Essential Dixie Chicks

Already own it?

Sell Yours
Home » Music » Country & Western » Bluegrass

The Essential Dixie Chicks

Artist: Dixie Chicks (Recorded By)

Elsewhere $33.49 $15.98   Save $17.51 (52%)
Free shipping Australia wide
Condition: New
Ships within: 3-7 days
New or Used: $15.98
Order now for Christmas delivery
Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Label: Open Wide Records
Album: The Essential Dixie Chicks
# Song Title   Time
1)    Not Ready to Make Nice
2)    Long Way Round, The
3)    Easy Silence
4)    Lubbock or Leave It
5)    Bitter End
6)    Silent House
7)    Lullaby
8)    Everybody Knows
9)    Long Time Gone
10)    Travelin' Soldier
11)    Landslide
12)    Lil' Jack Slade
13)    Truth No. 2
14)    White Trash Wedding
15)    Top of the World
1)    Ready to Run
2)    Cowboy Take Me Away
3)    Goodbye Earl
4)    Some Days You Gotta Dance
5)    Heartbreak Town
6)    Sin Wagon
7)    Without You
8)    Let Him Fly
9)    Wide Open Spaces
10)    There's Your Trouble
11)    You Were Mine
12)    I Can Love You Better
13)    Tonight the Heartache's on Me
14)    Give It Up or Let Me Go
15)    I Believe in Love

The first ever career-spanning hits collection from The Dixie Chicks

The Essential features 30 tracks across 2 CDs, featuring hits such as Landslide, Wide Open Spaces, Long Time Gone, Cowboy Take Me Away, Ready To Run, Not Ready To Make Nice and more

1. Not Ready To Make Nice
2. The Long Way Around
3. Easy Silence
4. Lubbock Or Leave It
5. Bitter End
6. Silent House
7. Lullaby
8. Everybody Knows
9. Long Time Gone
10. Travelin' Soldier
11. Landslide
12. Lil' Jack Slade
13. Truth No. 2
14. White Trash Wedding
15. Top Of The World

< CD2:
1. Ready To Run
2. Cowboy Take Me Away
3. Goodbye Earl
4. Some Days You Gotta Dance
5. Heartbreak Town
6. Sin Wagon
7. Without You
8. Let Him Fly
9. Wide Open Spaces
10. There's Your Trouble
11. You Were Mine
12. I Can Love You Better
13. Tonight The Heartache's On Me
14. Give It Up Or Let Me Go
15. I Believe In Love

Performer Notes
  • Liner Note Author: Bob Mehr.
  • Recording information: 1999-??-??&2002-??-??&2006-.
  • Photographers: Rod Spicer; Mark Seliger; Kim Maguire; James Minchin.
  • Appearing a few months after the budget-line Playlist, The Essential Dixie Chicks is the kind of comprehensive collection this trio deserves. Spanning 30 tracks over two discs, The Essential rounds up all of the Dixie Chicks' big hits but runs in reverse, opening with selections from 2006's Taking the Long Way, then running back through 2002's Home, 1999's Fly, and 1998's Wide Open Spaces. Some may grumble about the sequencing, but it flows nicely and has all the hits while illustrating the depth of the band's catalog, which is enough to make it as essential as billed. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Professional Reviews
Record Collector (magazine) (p.80) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "They sing like nightingales, but they're as hard as nails; modern-day torch-bearers in the mould of Dolly Parton or Loretta Lynn."

Uncut (magazine) (p.90) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[The] album collates their best cuts -- including the immaculate war ballad 'Travelin' Soldier' and blackly comic 'Goodbye Earl' -- from their last four studio albums."

Producer:Dixie Chicks; Lloyd Maines; Paul Worley; Rick Rubin; Blake Chancey; Dixie Chicks (Compilation)
Format:CD (0 Disc); Stereo
Studio/Live: Studio
Release Date:23 August, 2010

Tell a friend

Their Email:

Sell Yours

Already own this item?
Sell Yours and earn some cash. It's fast and free to list! (Learn More.)

1 review(s)
All Reviews
Hari on
After the June release of the twelve-track Playlist collection, fans were left wondering if a more complete Dixie Chicks anthology would be issued. That question is answered in the affirmative with this thirty-track 2-CD set that includes all six of the group's Country chart toppers, and fourteen (of seventeen) top-ten hits spanning all four of their studio albums on Sony imprints. That's nine years compressed into two hours over which the trio proves themselves consistently original interpreters of unerringly picked material, occasional contributors of original songs, and by the time of Taking the Long Way, writers with their own voice. The group's sound has often been imitated, but none of their followers have balanced the vocal blend, material, instrumental chops and attitude that makes this group one-of-a-kind.

Earlier female acts like Shania Twain tilted the Nashville axis towards pop, but the Dixie Chicks re-energized the Country empowerment handed down by Kitty Wells and Loretta Lynn. The trio wasn't shy of being feminine, but they always led with their music. They didn't smooth out their twang, instead highlighting their fiddle and banjo, and arraying their voices in three-party harmonies. Better yet, the more famous they became, the more they indulged their Texas roots. Rather than taking every crossover opportunity, they let the quality of their music draw more people into the tent. Their songs were liberated, bawdy, touching, emotionally complex and down-to-Earth, paralleling the tumult in their marriages and the growth they experienced as they ascended, sometimes against resistance, to stardom.

Among the most gratifying aspects of the group's success is their conquering of the mainstream while simultaneously promoting the works of superb, non-mainstream songwriters like Darrell Scott, Patti Griffin, Gary Louris and Bruce Robison. It's no surprise that their records sounded different than their Nashville peers, as much of the material was created by outsiders whose thoughtful songs weren't written by appointment. Sonically, the band also leaned on talent from beyond Music Row, with ace steel player (and Natalie Maines' dad) Lloyd Maines and studio svengali Rick Rubin each taking a turn in the producer's chair. Oddly, this double-CD set portrays the group in reverse chronological order, opening with eight tracks from the Rubin-produced Taking the Long Way, adding seven cuts from the stripped-down work of Home, eight tracks from Fly, six from the Sony debut Wide Open Spaces, and closing with "I Believe in Love" from Home.

It plays well, but for those just meeting the Dixie Chicks, it's a strange choice to replay the group's history backwards. Fans are likely to own the four original albums, and without any new or previously unreleased material (or tracks drawn from outside the four core albums), this collection is really targeted at those who didn't take the ride the first time. Love it or hate it, summing up an artist's core material is the Essential collection's mission - they're not bonus-laden box sets for fans. That said, the absence of three top-ten hits ("Cold Day in July," "If I Fall You're Going Down With Me," and "Some Days You Gotta Dance" from 2000 and 2001) and several other fan-favorite chart singles leaves this as "most of the essential" rather than an authoritative rendering. Bang for the buck, though, it's still a great introduction to the band; for the new initiates, a quick reprogramming of the track list is recommended. 4-1/2 stars, if allowed fractional ratings.

Review this Product


Related Searches


Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners

You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Essential Dixie Chicks on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep!



Are you the Author/Publisher? Improve sales by submitting additional information on this title.