Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Everything That Happens Will Happen Today [Digipak]

Album: Everything That Happens Will Happen Today [Digipak]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Home
2)    My Big Nurse
3)    I Feel My Stuff
4)    Everything That Happens
5)    Life Is Long
6)    River, The
7)    Strange Overtones
8)    Wanted for Life
9)    One Fine Day
10)    Poor Boy
11)    Lighthouse, The
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: David Byrne (vocals, guitar, E-bow, piano, Clavinet, surdo, percussion, programming); Brian Eno (guitar, electric guitar, strings, brass, piano, organ, omnichord, keyboards, programming, background vocals); Leo Abrahams (guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, baritone guitar, hurdy-gurdy, piano, percussion, programming, background vocals); Steve Jones (guitar, electric guitar); Phil Manzanera (guitar); Dave Mann , Dan "D Unit" Levine, Paul Shapiro , Barry Danielian (brass); Sebastian "Seb" Rochford (drums); Mauro Refosco (congas, bongos, pandeiro, rattle, reco-reco, shaker, tambourine); Robert Wyatt (frame drum).
  • Audio Mixer: Patrick Dillett.
  • Liner Note Authors: David Bryne; Brian Eno.
  • Recording information: Cafe Music Studios (2006-2008); Harder Sound (2006-2008); Home Studios (2006-2008); Kampo studios, New York, NY (2006-2008).
  • David Byrne and Brian Eno's 1981 masterpiece, MY LIFE IN THE BUSH OF GHOSTS, was a precocious slab of sampladelic art-funk that proved hugely influential. Twenty-seven years later, they finally got around to making another album together, but it's a far cry from BUSH OF GHOSTS' modernist World Music. Byrne and Eno called EVERYTHING THAT HAPPENS WILL HAPPEN TODAY their "electronic gospel" album, and it's easy to see what they mean, though there's obviously more to the story.
  • While the tracks are less electronically derived than the pair's description might imply, the harmonies and melodies do indeed bear a trace of American gospel/soul influence. It's certainly one of the rootsiest-sounding records either man has made. There are still plenty of classic ambient Eno touches to the production, but these are largely conventional song structures, with straightforward melodic lines sung by Byrne and the occasional twist thrown in. A couple of tunes get a bit funkier/stranger, bearing echoes of Byrne's Talking Heads past, but for the most part, where BUSH OF GHOSTS darted in and out of the shadowy brush, this collaboration sits on the front porch rocker amiably reeling off engaging yarns.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (p.69) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "EVERYTHING sounds more like a Heads record than anything Byrne's done since the band split in 1991. A radiantly tuneful set made with sidemen...the album often evokes sublime, slow-to-midtempo Heads songs like 'Heaven'..."

Rolling Stone (p.94) - Ranked #42 in Rolling Stone's 50 Best Albums Of 2008 -- "It's the strongest set either of these visionaries has released in ages..."

Spin (p.104) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[A] thoughtful singer-songwriter exercise....The elegiac opening ballad 'Home' comes on like a U2-size, album-closing climax..."

Entertainment Weekly (p.72) - "[T]his reunion is filled with straightforward folktronica anthems. Best of all is the bewitching 'Strange Overtones,' which features bubbly guitar and a disco momentum."

The Wire (p.54) - "[With] 'Pooor Boy', which displays a flash of livewire, neurological energy which the world could do with more of right now, and which they're still capable of providing."

CMJ - "No matter what genre he touches on, Eno spices up his sounds with selections from his usual bag of tricks: digital drum loops, layered ambient sounds and off-kilter rhythmic surges."

Blender (Magazine) (p.73) - 3.5 stars out of 5 -- "Eno's music is warm and inviting, full of wide spaces and quiet corners....The first Byrne album in decades to feel sprung from outside the ex-Head's head space."

Record Collector (magazine) (p.89) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[A] superb loving embrace between two great artists....This 10-track album is musically pliant and wide-ranging."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Everything That Happens Will Happen Today [Digipak] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top