Download the Free Fishpond App!
Download on the App Store

Android App on Google play
Ex-Under the Pink

Already own it?

Sell Yours
Home » Music » Pop

Ex-Under the Pink

Artist: Tori Amos (Performed By)

Elsewhere $22.16 $11.45   Save $10.71 (48%)
Free shipping Australia wide
Ships from UK
New or Used: $9.90
Order now for Christmas delivery
Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Label: Atlantic (Label)
Album: Ex-Under the Pink
# Song Title   Time
1)    Pretty Good Year
2)    God
3)    Bells for Her
4)    Past the Mission
5)    Baker Baker
6)    Wrong Band, The
7)    Waitress, The
8)    Cornflake Girl
9)    Icicle
10)    Cloud on My Tongue
11)    Space Dog
12)    Yes, Anastasia

Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Tori Amos (piano, vocals, organ); Trent Reznor, Merry Clayton (vocals); Steve Caton (guitar), Steve Clayton (guitar, mandolin); John Philip Shenale (organ, keyboards); George Porter Jr. (bass); Carlo Nuccio (drums); Paulinho Da Costa (percussion); Eric Rosse, Paul McKenna (programming).
  • String personnel: Ezra Klinger, Nancy Roth, John Wittenberg, Francine Walsh, Michael Harrison, Chris Reutinger (violins), Jimbo Ross, Cynthia Morrow, John Acevedo (violas), Nancy Stein-Ross, Dane Little, Melissa Hasin (cellos), Dominique Genova (bass).
  • Engineers: Paul McKenna, John Beverly Jones, Eric Rosse.
  • Recorded at The Fishhouse, New Mexico and Westlake Studios, Los Angeles, California.
  • UNDER THE PINK was nominated for Best Alternative Music Performance in the 37th Annual Grammy Awards.
  • Personnel: Tori Amos (vocals, piano); Trent Reznor (vocals); Steve Caton (guitar); John Wittenberg, Chris Reutinger, Ezra Killinger, Francine Walsh, Michael Allen Harrison, Nancy Roth (violin); Cynthia Morrow, John Acevedo, Jimbo Ross (viola); Nancy Stein-Ross, Melissa "Missy" Hasin, Dane Little (cello); John Philip Shenale (strings); Carlo Nuccio (drums); Paulinho Da Costa (percussion).
  • Audio Mixers: Kevin Killen; Ross Cullum.
  • Recording information: Fishhouse, NM; WEstlake STudios, L.A., CA.
  • Photographer: Cindy Palmano.
  • Tori Amos'second full-length solo effort has often been considered a transitional album, a building on the success of Little Earthquakes that enabled her to pursue increasingly more adventurous releases in later years. As such, it has been unfairly neglected when in fact it has as good a claim as any to be one of the strongest, and maybe even the strongest, record she has put out. Able to appeal to a mass audience without being shoehorned into the incipient "adult album alternative" format that sprang to life in the mid-1990s, Amos combines some of her strongest melodies and lyrics with especially haunting and powerful arrangements to create an artistic success that stands on its own two feet. The best-known tracks are the two contemporaneous singles "God," a wicked critique of the deity armed with a stiff, heavy funk-rock arrangement, and "Cornflake Girl," a waltz-paced number with an unnerving whistle and stuttering vocal hook. While both memorable, they're actually among the weaker tracks when compared to some of the great numbers elsewhere on Under the Pink (other numbers that more openly misfire are "The Waitress," a strident and slightly bizarre rant at such a figure, and "Yes, Anastasia," which starts off nicely but runs a little too long). Opening number "Pretty Good Year" captures nostalgia and drama perfectly, a simple piano with light strings suddenly exploding into full orchestration before calming again. "Bells for Her" and "Icicle" both showcase what Amos can do with prepared piano, and "Past the Mission," with Trent Reznor guesting on gentle, affecting backing vocals, shifts between loping country and a beautifully arranged chorus. The secret winner, though, would have to be "Baker Baker," just Amos and piano, detailing the story of a departed love and working its cooking metaphor in just the right way. ~ Ned Raggett

Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[O]verall, Amos' messages ring out as powerfully as ever."

Rolling Stone (5/13/99, p.54) - Included in Rolling Stone's "Essential Recordings of the 90's."

Rolling Stone (2/24/94, p.59) - 3 1/2 Stars - Good Plus - "...The album is focused, the lyrics quirky and personable, the melodies eccentric enough to entice and simple enough to be catchy. These qualities--and her emotional fearlessness--make Tori Amos a musical find to treasure...."

Musician (2/94, p.71) - "...Hardly in the last 20 years has any artist of any real nerve conspired to create an album quite so edgily designed around pianoforte and sotto voce as [UNDER THE PINK]....throwing in a sensationalist lyric or weird chord change that suddenly incarnates the emotional undercurrent of the song as it removes it from easy mainstream listening...."

Village Voice (3/94, p.5) - Ranked #2 in the Village Voice's 1993 Pazz & Jop Critics Poll.

NME (Magazine) (2/5/94, p.40) - 6 - Good.

Producer:Eric Ivan Rosse; Paul McKenna; Tori Amos
Format:CD (0 Disc); Stereo
Studio/Live: Studio
Release Date:1 January, 1994
Guest Artist: Trent Reznor; George Porter, Jr.; Merry Clayton


1. "Yes, Anastasia"

2. Icicle

3. Cloud On My Tongue

4. Space Dog

5. The Waitress

6. Cornflake Girl

7. The Wrong Band

8. Baker Baker

9. God

10. Bells For Her

11. Pretty Good Year

12. Past The Mission

Tell a friend

Their Email:

Sell Yours

Already own this item?
Sell Yours and earn some cash. It's fast and free to list! (Learn More.)

2 review(s)
All Reviews
Caroline on
Tori Amos is a splendid artist. Without bowing to conformity Tori has always provided fans with her unique lyrics, intertwined with piano ballads and glorious temptation.
Under the Pink features the irresistible Cornflake Girl. Other standout tracks are Pretty Good Year, Cloud on My Tongue and the Wrong Band.
Do yourself a favour and grab a remarkable album by a remarkable artist.
Calinda on
This is one of my all time favourite albums - there are so many different songs to suit many different moods and if you are just getting into Tori through her recent The Beekeeper then I urge you to sample this delight. Stand out tracks are God, Cloud on my Tongue and Space Dog.

We are so lucky to have Tori Amos’ witty, sexy takes on the piano and at the microphone!! 10 outta 10!!

Review this Product


Related Searches


Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners

You can earn a 5% commission by selling Ex-Under the Pink on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep!



Are you the Author/Publisher? Improve sales by submitting additional information on this title.


This item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.