Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed


Album: Fabriclive.26
# Song Title   Time
1)    Dogz N Sledgez
2)    Southern Lady
3)    Ghostwriter / Ground Zero - (featuring Mass Influence)
4)    Alphabet Man - (featuring Yungun)
5)    I Got an Attitude - (featuring Antoinette)
6)    Surprize - (featuring Verb/Yungun/Mystro)
7)    None Other / 3 Feet Deep (Instrumental) - (featuring Cappo/Abdominal/D-Sisive)
8)    Talkin' Loud and Sayin' Nothing
9)    Welly Wanging
10)    Play This (One)
11)    Paid in Full (Seven Minutes of Madness--The Coldcut Remix)
12)    Glimity Glimity
13)    I.D.S.T.
14)    Spin It Round - (featuring Dynamite MC)
15)    It's Great to Be Here
16)    Family Rap - (featuring Chali 2na/Soup/Double K/Wolf/Munyungo Jackson)
17)    It Takes a Seven Nation Army to Hold Us Back - (featuring Emilio Lopez)
18)    Gadget Funk
19)    Mr. Matatwe (Keep It up)
20)    Keeping It Real?
21)    Boom!
22)    Just Give the DJ a Break - (12" club version)
23)    Newsflash
24)    Booty la La
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • DJ: The Herbaliser.
  • The Fabriclive series has suffered few misses -- nearly every volume has featured high-class DJs mixing more dangerously and adventurously than they would anywhere else, with better results than appear on any other commercial releases. Jake Wherry and Ollie Teeba of the Herbaliser certainly haven't lacked for opportunities to host freewheeling mix albums -- they do record for Ninja Tune, after all -- but another chance is always welcome. Fabriclive.26 is equal to their 2003 mix Herbal Blend for the Solid Steel sessions, and that's heavy praise. Differences, though, are apparent, beginning with an indication that the Herbaliser is less willing to dredge the vagaries of pop culture than on Herbal Blend. This is a straight hip-hop mix for all practical purposes, with only a few choice funk nuggets strategically placed when necessary. And for energy, it's unmatched by any recent hip-hop releases, beginning with the opener, "Dogsz N Sledgez," where Million Dan punctuates his dancehall raps with interjecting growls and whistles. An up-to-the-minute track from Blufoot with Yungun moves into a golden-age classic from Hurby Luv Bug and Antoinette without pausing a beat (or sounding like they're reaching for material). Most of the transitions are quick cuts that fit the mood perfectly, even when they drop their own "None Other" (featuring Cappo) in the middle of the mix. British rap specifically, and underground rap in general, never get enough exposure (and don't think the grime fad solved anything), but with any luck, hip-hop fans will be hearing a lot more of British producer Blufoot and 7L & Esoteric disciple Apathy (who might get an album out on Atlantic if the White Stripes don't mind the sample). ~ John Bush
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » R&B » General
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Back to top