Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range


Album: Fado
# Song Title   Time
1)    Escrevi Teu Nome No Vento
2)    Bia da Mouraria, A
3)    Meu Amor Marinheiro
4)    Palavras Dadas [Fado Rosita]
5)    Espelho Quebrado
6)    Marcha de Alfama
7)    O Tejo Corre No Tejo
8)    Voz [Fado Licas], A
9)    Voltar a Ser
10)    Carta a Lisboa [Fado Alexandrino Do Rocha]
11)    Carta a Leslie Burke
12)    Uma Vida Noutra Vida [Fado Pechincha]
13)    Nunca ? Sil?ncio Vao [Fado Pedro Rodrigues]
14)    Senhora da Nazare
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Ricardo Rocha, Jos? Manuel Neto (guitar); Carlos Barretto (double bass).
  • Audio Mixer: Artur David.
  • Recording information: Lisboa Studios.
  • Photographer: Isabel Pinto.
  • One of the most promising Portuguese vocalists to emerge in years, Carminho is joined by an all-star group of musicians on her debut album, Fado, a collection of sparely performed fados sung with remarkable grace and majesty. Well worth the wait, Fado was a long time coming. The daughter of fadista Teresa Siqueira, Carminho first made a name for herself six years earlier with Saudades do Fado: Tert?lia de Fado Tradicional (2003), an album by guitarist Luis Penedo on which she was featured as a vocalist. In subsequent years, she won the Pr?mio Am?lia Revela?ao award and appeared in the Carlos Saura film Fados (2007). It was just a matter of time before she made her full-length solo debut with Fado, released when Carminho was only 25 years old. Her youth is notable, because on Fado, she comes across like a seasoned fadista, singing with passion, power, and poise. In addition to her spectacular vocals, Fado boasts an impressive list of featured musicians accompanying the young singer. The producer of the album, Diogo Clemente, plays guitar on all 14 songs, and he's joined by bassist Marino de Freitas on all except one. Bernardo Couto, Jos? Manuel Neto, Ricardo Rocha, and Angelo Freire contribute additional guitar. All the music is acoustic, and it's sparely arranged, generally featuring Carminho with the backing of Clemente, de Freitas, and one of the other guitarists. The traditional fado style may not change from song to song, but the material does, including fados penned by 11 different songwriters. Carminho is credited with two songs ("Palavras Dadas," "Nunca e Sil?ncio Vao"), and Clemente is credited with three ("A Voz," "Carta a Lisboa," "Carta a Leslie Burke"). Practically every song is excellent, in particular the first couple, "Escrevi o Teu Nome No Vento" and "A Bia da Mouraria." ~ Jason Birchmeier
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » World Music » Europe » Fado
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Fado on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top