SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Turn your Clutter Into Cash with SmartSell.TM Book a Courier Pickup Today!

Fame [Original Soundtrack]

Album: Fame [Original Soundtrack]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Fame
2)    Out Here on My Own
3)    Hot Lunch Jam
4)    Dogs in the Yard
5)    Red Light
6)    Is It OK If I Call You Mine?
7)    Never Alone
8)    Ralph and Monty (Dressing Room Piano)
9)    I Sing the Body Electric
10)    Miles from Here - (previously unreleased)
11)    Out Here on My Own [Instrumental Version]
12)    Fame [Instrumental Version]
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Audio Mixer: Frank Kulaga.
  • Liner Note Author: George Feltenstein.
  • Recording information: A&R Recording Studio, New York, NY; C.I. Recording Studios, New York, NY; Columbia 30th Street Studios, New York, NY; Media Sound Studios, New York City.
  • Fame was a film directed by Alan Parker, a serious auteur (some would say overly serious, especially in light of the work that came later) who designed the film for posterity, and the same attitude carried over to the music. Yes, the production techniques often do sound dated -- the over-reliance on state-of-the-art synthesizer ironically now sounds helplessly tied to the year of its creation -- but the music by Michael Gore is dynamic, varied, and alive, sung with real passion and vigor, and it still retains its essential spark 23 years after it was a pop culture phenomenon. Sure, it's glitzy and glossy, sounding like show tunes, but that's the tradition of this music, and it was done better than most Broadway tunes and movie soundtracks of the '80s. Years later, this still has the spark and vitality of kids trying to make their big break, no matter the kind of music they're singing, and that's one of the main reasons (along with Gore's fine compositions) Fame retains its power and entertainment value years later. [On the 2013 reissue by WaterTower, three bonus tracks were included: instrumental versions of "Out Here on My Own" and "Fame," along with the yearning ballad "Miles from Here."] ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Back to top