Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Fear of Infinity *

Hurry - Only 3 left in stock!
Album: Fear of Infinity *
# Song Title   Time
1)    Hour Of Reprisal
2)    Destroyer Of Solace
3)    Obsessions Now Effigies
4)    To Grieve Forever
5)    Saturn And Sacrifice
6)    Unplenitude
7)    Finality
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Rain Irving (vocals); Tom Phillips (guitar, keyboards); Scott Loose (guitar); Jason Lingle, Michelle Schrotz (keyboards); Trevor Schrotz (drums).
  • Audio Mixer: Chris Salamone.
  • Recording information: Salamone's Recording Studio, Fredericksburg, VA (11/2010-01/2011).
  • Photographer: Bob Pendleton.
  • Arranger: Tom Phillips .
  • The term "epic doom metal," which has been used to describe the late-2000s/early-2010s' output of While Heaven Wept, almost sounds like a contradiction in terms. Epic metal (as in epic power metal or epic progressive metal) goes out of its way to sound big, grandiose, and larger than life; doom metal, on the other hand, is, well, doomy. It is full of melancholy, which is quite a contrast to the conquer-the-world bravado and machismo that one finds in the epic power metal recordings of Judas Priest, Iron Maiden, Queensr?che, or the delightfully cartoonish Manowar. But Fear of Infinity does, in fact, have a sound that can honestly be described as epic doom metal. Granted, this 2011 release may not be doom metal to someone who thinks that the sludgy brutality and rawness of Saint Vitus and the very underground Grief is what doom metal is supposed to sound like; rather, the consistently melodic Fear of Infinity is more like doom metal-meets-gothic metal-meets power metal and progressive metal. While Heaven Wept used to go out of their way to emulate Candlemass; on Fear of Infinity, however, it is impossible to overlook the power metal and prog metal elements. Faster tempos are plentiful, which is certainly a contrast to the slow, plodding, Black Sabbath-minded riffs that put Candlemass (who used to be While Heaven Wept's dominant influence) on the map. But for all its power metal/prog metal energy, Fear of Infinity is still an unapologetically melancholy album. And the fact that Fear of Infinity actually manages to be epic and sorrowful at the same time speaks well of While Heaven Wept, who clearly are no longer content to sound like a poor man's Candlemass. Creatively, the 2009 release Vast Oceans Lachrymose was a step forward for these Virginians, and they keep that creative momentum going on the intriguing Fear of Infinity. ~ Alex Henderson
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Fear of Infinity * on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top