Download the Free Fishpond App!
Download on the App Store

Android App on Google play
Fegmania! [Bonus Tracks] [Slipcase]

Already own it?

Sell Yours
Home » Music » Pop » Folk Rock

Fegmania! [Bonus Tracks] [Slipcase]

Artist: Robyn Hitchcock/Robyn Hitchcock & the Egyptians

Free shipping Australia wide
Ships from USA
Order now for Christmas delivery
Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Label: Yep Roc
Album: Fegmania! [Bonus Tracks] [Slipcase]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Egyptian Cream
2)    Another Bubble
3)    I'm Only You
4)    My Wife & My Dead Wife
5)    Goodnight I Say
6)    Man with the Lightbulb Head, The
7)    Insect Mother
8)    Strawberry Mind
9)    Glass
10)    Fly, The
11)    Heaven
12)    [Untitled]
13)    Bells Of Rhymney
14)    Some Body
15)    Heaven [Live]
16)    Pit Of Souls, The (I-IV)
17)    Drowning Church, The
18)    Man With The Lightbulb Head [Instrumental], The
19)    Lady Obvious

Performer Notes
  • This reissue of FEGMANIA! includes the original album plus three songs that were added as bonuses to the first CD issue in 1986, four previously unreleased demos and live tracks, and a 10-minute version of the instrumental "The Pit Of Souls," originally released on the 12-inch vinyl EP BRENDA'S IRON SLEDGE.
  • Robyn Hitchcock & The Egyptians: Robyn Hitchcock (vocals, guitar, bass, keyboards); Andy Metcalfe ( keyboards, bass, percussion, background vocals); Roger Jackson (keyboards, background vocals); Morris Windsor (drums, percussion, background vocals).
  • Additional personnel: James A. Smith (guitar); James Fletcher (saxophone); John Kingham (drums); Justin Grimaldi (congas); Matthew Seligman (programming).
  • Engineers include: Pat Collier, Iain O'Higgins, Matthew Seligman.
  • Originally released on Slash. Includes liner notes by Grant Alden.
  • Robyn Hitchcock/Robyn Hitchcock & the Egyptians: Robyn Hitchcock (vocals, guitar, keyboards); Andy Metcalfe (vocals, keyboards, bass instrument); Roger Jackson (vocals, keyboards); Morris Windsor (vocals, drums).
  • Personnel: James A. Smith (guitar).
  • Audio Mixers: Jessica Corcoran; Robyn Hitchcock; Robyn Hitchcock & the Egyptians.
  • Audio Remasterers: Donal Whelan; Charlie Francis.
  • Recording information: Alaska (1984/1992); The Greenhouse, London, England (1984/1992).
  • Photographer: Tony Moon.
  • Out of the ashes of his former band, The Soft Boys, Robyn Hitchcock formed The Egyptians (essentially The Soft Boys minus Kimberly Rew, who was soon to find international chart success with Katrina & The Waves). He'd already released three albums under his own name, culminating with I OFTEN DREAM OF TRAINS on which he hooked up with his erstwhile rhythm section.
  • This is shimmering British psychedelia that has roots in Syd Barrett, The Byrds, The Beatles and countless other touchstones, but it comes out sounding like no one else. While the Egyptians don't have the sonic onslaught of The Soft Boys, they offer instead a broader, more evocative palette. This is a fine album that points the way to the succession of peaks that followed.

Professional Reviews
CMJ (1/5/04, p.16) - Ranked #19 in CMJ's "Top 20 Most-Played Albums of 1985"

Melody Maker (7/8/95, p.34) - "...FEGMANIA! was Hitchcock's first record with The Egyptians and ranks with GLOBE OF FROGS as the best. `My Wife And My Dead Wife', `Goodnight I Say' and `Heaven' [are] deserved cult classics..."

Musician (6/95, p.73) - "...the album where Hitchcock finally hit his stride as a solo artist....include[s] the sort of classics...that would endear him to college radio for eternity..."

Format:CD (0 Disc); Stereo
Studio/Live: Mixed
Release Date:1 August, 2008
Guest Artist: Matthew Seligman

Tell a friend

Their Email:

Sell Yours

Already own this item?
Sell Yours and earn some cash. It's fast and free to list! (Learn More.)

Review this Product


Related Searches


Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners

You can earn a 5% commission by selling Fegmania! [Bonus Tracks] [Slipcase] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep!



Are you the Author/Publisher? Improve sales by submitting additional information on this title.


This item ships from and is sold by, Inc.