SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Sell Your Old Stuff for Cash. It's Easy & Free to List. Get Started Now.

Final Wild Songs [Box] *

Album: Final Wild Songs [Box] *
# Song Title   Time
1)    Join My Gang
2)    You Don't Know What's Right, You Don't Know What's Wrong
3)    10/5/60
4)    And She Rides
5)    Born to Believe in You
6)    Final Wild Son
7)    Ivory Tower
8)    Run Dusty Run
9)    (Sweet) Mental Revenge
10)    Fair Game
11)    Tell It to the Judge on Sunday
12)    Wreck of the 809
13)    Too Close to the Light
14)    Never Got to Meet the Mom
15)    I Had a Dream
16)    Masters of War
17)    Black Girl [Live] - (previously unreleased)
18)    Wreck of the 809 [Live] - (previously unreleased)
19)    Further Along [Live] - (previously unreleased)
20)    Rains Came [Live], The - (previously unreleased)
21)    You Can't Judge a Book by the Cover [Live] - (previously unreleased)
1)    Looking for Lewis and Clark
2)    Lights of Downtown
3)    Wdia
4)    Mason-Dixon Line
5)    Here Comes That Train Again
6)    Years Long Ago
7)    Good Times Tomorrow, Hard Times Today
8)    Two Kinds of Love
9)    You Can't Ride the Boxcars Anymore
10)    Capturing the Flag
11)    State of My Union
12)    Southside of the Story
13)    Child Bride
14)    If I Were a Bramble and You Were a Rose
15)    Looking for Lewis and Clark [Live] - (previously unreleased)
16)    Lights of Downtown [Captain's Mix] - (remix, previously unreleased)
17)    Capturing the Flag [Captain's Mix] - (remix, previously unreleased)
18)    Christmas in New Zealand
19)    Encore From Hell [Live] - (previously unreleased)
1)    Gunslinger Man
2)    I Want You Bad
3)    Stitch in Time, A
4)    Light Gets in the Way, The
5)    Prairie Fire
6)    Baby's in Toyland
7)    Long Story Short
8)    Man of Misery
9)    Harriet Tubman's Gonna Carry Me Home
10)    Rest of My Days, The
11)    Spectacular Fall
12)    Ring Bells
13)    17 Ways
14)    Basic Black
15)    Pushin' Uphill
16)    How Do We Feel What's Real? - (previously unreleased)
17)    He's Got Himself a Young Girl (And He Can't Keep Up)
18)    He Can Hear His Brother Calling
19)    Sad Sad Songs - (previously unreleased)
20)    Flak Jacket
21)    Blues Theme - (previously unreleased)
1)    Mason Dixon Line
2)    Time Keeps Traveling
3)    (Sweet) Mental Revenge
4)    Run Dusty Run
5)    You Don't Know What's Right, You Don't Know What's Wrong
6)    As God Is My Witness
7)    Ivory Tower
8)    I Can't Hide
9)    Masters of War
10)    Wreck of the 809
11)    Good Times Tomorrow, Hard Times Today
12)    Six Days on the Road
13)    Southside of the Story
14)    Still Get By
15)    Tell It to the Judge on Sunday
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Liner Note Author: David Fricke.
  • Recording information: Live Concert, "T Beest Goes, The Netherlands (04/06/1985); Live, BBC TV's "Whistle Test" (04/06/1985); Noah Concerts, The Esther Palais de Danse, Goes (04/06/1985).
  • The Long Ryders were the Odd Men Out in the Paisley Underground scene that briefly held sway over Los Angeles in the '80s. Like their peers, they felt a very personal connection with the music of the '60s, but instead of embracing psychedelia, they flew the flag for folk-rock and country-rock, putting Gram Parsons, Chris Hillman, Roger McGuinn, and Doug Sahm on their personal Mt. Rushmore. The Long Ryders were proud traditionalists, but they didn't live in the past. Their music was also informed by early punk and power pop in its hooky energy and sense of commitment, and if they sang of the lessons to be taken from history, they did so as progressives who knew the stories of Harriet Tubman, WDIA-AM, the Dust Bowl, and the Mason-Dixon Line had as much to say about the present as the past. If they fell short of genuine stardom, the Long Ryders more than made a difference during their 1981-1987 lifetime, particularly in their influence on the alt-country movement, which would spread like wildfire not long after they broke up. Nearly everything you need to know about the band can be found on Final Wild Songs, a four-CD box set that collects their debut EP, 1983's 10-5-60, and their three studio albums, 1984's Native Sons, 1985's State of Our Union, and 1987's Two Fisted Tales, as well as a number of rare and unreleased tracks, including a full live set recorded for radio broadcast in the Netherlands. The Long Ryders were a band that wore their beliefs -- personal, political, and musical -- on their sleeves, and in their heyday they were celebrated for what they had to say as much as the music they made. But Final Wild Songs makes it clear this combo's music has endured because they were a truly great rock & roll band, full of snap and fervent energy. The guitar interplay between Sid Griffin and Stephen McCarthy was pure jangly bliss, and bassist Tom Stevens and drummer Greg Sowders held the tunes together with fire, precision, and outsized personality. The Long Ryders knew when to play moody and subtle, but they could also rock out with ferocious joy, and "Looking for Lewis and Clark" still sounds like an anthem worth marching to 30 years after the fact. Final Wild Songs includes song-by-song notes from the group's members, and their often witty remarks point to how much the Long Ryders cared about music as well as the world around them. And anyone who questions the group's sense of humor should check out the previously flexi-disc only "Christmas in New Zealand" and "Encore from Hell" (the latter featuring the band jamming on stage while Griffin reads profoundly negative reviews of State of Our Union with no small enthusiasm). The Long Ryders mattered then, and still matter today, and Final Wild Songs has enough fire and fun to convince any doubters. ~ Mark Deming
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Final Wild Songs [Box] * on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top