Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Finely Tuned

Album: Finely Tuned
# Song Title   Time
1)    She Does It Right
2)    More I Give, The
3)    You Shouldn't Call the Doctor (If You Can't Afford the Bills)
4)    Roxette - (live)
5)    Going Back Home - (live)
6)    I Don't Wanna Know
7)    Down at the Doctors
8)    Milk and Alcohol
9)    Going Some Place Else
10)    Best in the World
11)    Sweet Sweet Lovin' (Gone Sour on Me)
12)    Beautiful Delilah
13)    Murder in the First Degree
14)    Something Out of Nothing
15)    Alimony - (previously unreleased)
16)    You Don't Love Me
17)    Mad Man Blues
18)    Something Good
19)    Hunting Shooting Fishing
20)    Don't Underestimate Your Enemy
21)    Down by the Jetty Blues
22)    Double Crossed
23)    Solitary Blues
24)    Walk, The
25)    You Gotta Help Me
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Dr. Feelgood includes: Wilko Johnson, Gypie Mayo, Johnny Guitar, Gordon Russell, Steve Walwyn.
  • Personnel: Nick Payn (harmonica); J. Neil Sidwell, Steve Sidwell, Paul Spong (horns); Bob Andrews (piano, organ); Ian Gibbons (piano); Dave Bronze, Roger Cotton (organ); Kevin McAlea (keyboards); Vicki Brown, Stevie Lange, Katie Kissoon (background vocals).
  • Liner Note Author: Stephen Foster.
  • Unknown Contributor Roles: Johnny Guitar; Robert Kane; Gypie Mayo; The Big Figure; Gordon Russell; Lee Brilleaux; Steve Walwyn; Phil H. Mitchell; Wilko Johnson; Kevin Morris.
  • Remember how, back in the early '80s, Chuck Berry's Great Twenty-Eight was the record that every teenage would-be rock & roll guitarist had to own (and play till its grooves were worn out)? Well, Dr. Feelgood's Finely Tuned might not wear out, but it just could be the successor to that Berry collection. Actually, a compilation of guitar-oriented tracks by Dr. Feelgood seems like a no-brainer as well as a bit redundant -- really, their guitar-dominated sides, as opposed to those songs they did featuring the oboe or the violin? (They didn't even get a keyboard player until their fourth album.) But it wasn't until 2002 that Finely Tuned, compiled and produced by Stephen Foster, graced record-store shelves. The sleeve notes give a history and justification for each of the 27 songs on this 80-minute collection. That said, the occasional choice, such as "The More I Give," would seem a little shaky as a selection if not for those explanations -- actually, that track is there to showcase Wilko Johnson's choppy, soul-influenced playing, which was something new and different for him at the time. More self-evident selections include "You Shouldn't Call the Doctor (If You Can't Afford the Bills)," from Malpractice, and "Roxette" off Stupidity, and by the time listeners get to the live version of the Mick Green homage "Going Back Home," the case is very much made. The sound quality is excellent to a fault -- loud, close, and personal, and showcasing every intended crunching riff and slashing lick -- and everything else also fares well in this state-of-the-art release, which might be the best way (short of working up album by album) into the band for the neophyte listener. ~ Bruce Eder
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Home » Music » Pop » Pub Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Finely Tuned on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top