Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed


Album: Firecracker
# Song Title   Time
1)    Devils Paintbrush Road
2)    Prairie Town
3)    Begin
4)    Firecracker
5)    Avila
6)    This Heart of Mine
7)    Swallow
8)    Starlight
9)    Things That You Know
10)    Apocalypse Lullaby
11)    Glory Bound
12)    Some Good Thing
13)    Long Time Traveller
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • The Wailin' Jennys: Ruth Moody (vocals, acoustic guitar, banjo, accordion); Annabelle Chvostek (vocals, acoustic guitar, mandolin, violin); Nicky Mehta (vocals, acoustic guitar, harmonica).
  • Additional personnel: Mike Hardwick (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, dobro); Richard Moody (violin, viola); David Travers-Smith (trumpet, horns, organ, percussion); Joe Phillips (acoustic bass); Christian Dugas (drums).
  • Though Cara Luft, a founding member of the Wailin' Jennys, was replaced by Annabelle Chvostek, the band's tight harmonies and pretty folk songs haven't changed at all on their second album, Firecracker. In fact, they've even gotten better. Chvostek's voice is seductively low and versatile, and it blends well with and adds a lot of strength and depth to the higher ranges that Ruth Moody and Nicky Mehta provide. All three Jennys are also great songwriters, and everything on the album is well done, with thoughtful reflective lyrics about love and friendship and death, the cold autumn wind of the Canadian prairie blowing through the record, shaping and influencing the mandolin, the banjo, the acoustic guitar, the violin, the National Steel. It's music with a dark, sweet edge, like it understands the pain in the world but still chooses to focus on what's good instead. "Swallow," though in its attempt to maintain rhythm and rhyme the lyrics can occasionally sound a little corny ("You got me, arrow shot me/Now come connect the dot me"), lilts along like the bird itself as it explores love's transience, while "Avila" is simple and pretty, with a delicate chorus of "O sweet peace never have you fallen/never have you fallen upon this town," sung in three-part harmony, that sense of longing lodged between the notes of a slow, aching electric guitar solo that winds its way through the song. A similar feeling is also apparent in "Glory Bound," manifested as a desire for a reprieve from life's hardships. It's not morbid, it's simply sad and honest in that uplifting way that only country and folk music can be. There is a melancholy that lies within many of the Wailin' Jennys' songs, but there's still an overwhelming sense of hope and happiness that is even stronger, and makes Firecracker a really great, uncontrived album. ~ Marisa Brown
Professional Reviews
Dirty Linen (p.50) - "[Their] spare, modern lyrics are set to haunting, traditional-sounding melodies with an alt-country/old-time sound borrowed from the American South."

No Depression (p.118) - "Whether leading with Moody's sweet soprano, Mehta's supple mezzo-soprano, or Chvostek's solid alto, the Jennys engage on a purely delightful level of melody and harmony."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Folk » General
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Firecracker on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top