Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

First Two Records [Bonus Tracks]

Album: First Two Records [Bonus Tracks]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Double Dare Ya
2)    Liar
3)    Carnival
4)    Suck My Left One
5)    Feels Blind
6)    Thurston Hearts the Who
7)    White Boy
8)    This Is Not a Test
9)    Don't Need You
10)    Jigsaw Youth
11)    Resist Psychic Death
12)    Rebel Girl
13)    Outta Me
14)    George Bush Is a Pig
15)    I Busted in Your Chevy Window
16)    Get Out
17)    Why
18)    Fuck Twin Peaks
19)    Girl Soldier
20)    Not Right Now
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Includes the EPs BIKINI KILL (formerly available as Kill Rock Stars 204) and YEAH YEAH YEAH YEAH.
  • Bikini Kill: Tobi Vail (vocals, bass, drums); Kathleen Hanna (vocals, drums); Billy Karren (guitar); Kathi Wilcox (bass, drums).
  • Engineers include: Ian Mackaye, Don Zientara, Pat Maley.
  • Recorded in 1991 and 1992. Includes liner notes by Kathleen Hanna and Tobi Vail.
  • Though they're quick to decry it in the CD liner notes, Bikini Kill found themselves manipulated into a position of being the premier "riot girl" band by a media obsessed with pigeon-holing everything. In actuality, the band comprised a number of different ethos and points of view, which at times seemed to lead to contradictory messages and gave their detractors ammunition--the band were called everything from exploitative to man-hating.
  • The first Bikini Kill "album" (six tracks, 16 minutes) features mid-tempo punk rock songs, including "Feels Blind," the clear blueprint for almost every Hole song (though Courtney Love is clearly more interested in commercial success), and "Thurston Hearts the Who," featuring simultaneous vocals, one skewering Sonic Youth and their "coolness," the other a sarcastic reading of a Bikini Kill review by a very confused and misinformed journalist. The second record, YEAH, YEAH, YEAH, YEAH, originally released as a split 12-inch with England's Huggy Bear, features even better songs (but tinnier production), especially "Don't Need You," a pissed-off, high-speed rip at people offering unbidden opinions, and the low-key "Outta Me," a brilliant break-up song.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (9/30/93, p.104) - 4 Stars - Excellent - "...[Bikini Kill] make contradictory and compelling art about a confused--but not lost--generation..."

Spin (3/93, p.22) - "...evil-sounding guitar, bass, and drums aggressively slammed together in a simple, catchy punk rock style...it's Kathleen Hanna's voice that takes this record to a higher level..."

Alternative Press (4/93, p.53) - "...Bikini Kill are god(desse)s, in spite of it all....the best punk rock record made..."

Village Voice (3/2/93, p.5) - Ranked #8 in the Village Voice's list of the 10 Best EPs of 1992.

Mojo (Publisher) (7/02, p.126) - "...For most folks, this is where it all started....this disc is the [Riot Grrl] manifesto. Fury abounds..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling First Two Records [Bonus Tracks] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top