SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Flamejob [Limited Edition]

Album: Flamejob [Limited Edition]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Mean Machine
2)    Ultra Twist
3)    Let's Get Fucked Up
4)    Nest of the Cuckoo Bird
5)    I'm Customized
6)    Sado County Auto Show
7)    Naked Girl Falling Down the Stairs
8)    How Come You Do Me?
9)    Inside Out and Upside Down (With You)
10)    Trapped Love
11)    Swing the Big Eyed Rabbit
12)    Strange Love
13)    Blues Blues Blues
14)    Sinners
15)    Route 66 (Get Your Kicks On)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • The Cramps: Lux Interior (vocals); Poison Ivy (Ivy Rorschach) (guitar); Slim Chance (bass); Harry Drumdini (drums).
  • Recorded at Earle's Psychedelic Shack, Thousands Oaks, California.
  • America's--nay, the world's--greatest exponents of trashcan psycho-rockabilly return to business as usual here, albeit with a big new instrumental sound courtesy of Beach Boys engineer Earle Mankey. This doesn't translate into slickness, however; Lux Interior's over the top faux-Elvis vocals and Poison Ivy's mangled guitar stylings are merely reproduced with more in-your-face clarity.
  • Songwise, FLAMEJOB is double entendre heaven ("You kissed my hand my love began to expand"), except when the band opts for directness ("Let's Get Fucked Up," a Cramps manifesto of sorts). Elsewhere, they appropriate the guitar riff from "Shakin' All Over" in "I'm Customized," and conclude with a sepulchral rendition of "Route 66" that splits the difference of the Rolling Stones' and Depche Mode's versions. Great stuff.
Professional Reviews
Entertainment Weekly (10/14/94, p.61) - "...The brand new FLAMEJOB shows they haven't lost a step..." - Rating: B

Uncut (2/04, pp.86-7) - 3 stars out of 5 - "FLAMEJOB is a blast; its tunes every bit as colourful as their preposterous titles."

Alternative Press (12/94, p.78) - "...the Cramps themselves are an American icon, a repository for all the spiteful dreams and sick-minded fantasies you've ever kept in your cupboard, and every new album is your chance to spread them out on the carpet to drool..."

NME (Magazine) (10/15/94, p.54) - 8 - Excellent - "'s immediately obvious that the centuries have not mellowed Lux and Ivy; it's still the same cathode ray mutated swampabilly unleashed on their GRAVEST HITS [EP] debut in the late '70s..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Back to top