Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

For Once In My Life

Album: For Once In My Life
# Song Title   Time
1)    For Once In My Life Album Version More Info... 2:51
2)    Shoo-Be-Doo-Be-Doo-Da-Day Album Version More Info... 2:47
3)    You Met Your Match Album Version More Info... 2:40
4)    I Wanna Make Her Love Me Album Version More Info... 2:55
5)    I'm More Than Happy (I'm Satisfied) Album Version More Info... 2:59
6)    I Don't Know Why Album Version More Info... 2:48
7)    Sunny Album Version More Info... 4:01
8)    I'd Be A Fool Right Now Album Version More Info... 2:57
9)    Ain't No Lovin' Album Version More Info... 2:39
10)    God Bless The Child Album Version More Info... 3:29
11)    Do I Love Her Album Version More Info... 3:01
12)    The House On The Hill Album Version More Info... 2:37
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Includes liner notes by Allan Rinde.
  • Personnel: Stevie Wonder (vocals, harmonica, keyboards); Benny Benjamin (drums).
  • Liner Note Author: Allan Rinde.
  • A lush, energetic recording, FOR ONCE IN MY LIFE sees "Little" Stevie Wonder singing a workout's worth. Not to be confused with the more broadly creative Stevie of later years, this is the vintage singing-sensation Stevie. It's a thrill to hear. While the studio instrumentation is standard fare for the time, Wonder plays happily off the backing with saucily bent notes and hearty falsettos that make these pop tunes wail.
  • The overdubbed vocal harmonies on tunes like "You Met Your Match" make for the kind of hard-grooving hooks that would populate many other Wonder albums to come. "I'm More Than Happy" is a sweet, slow treat with a conga-pumped feel akin to many Marvin Gaye cuts of the same period. While the sultry wash of strings seems at times to push Stevie to more fervent singing, its absence elsewhere allows for more of his subtleties to emerge. A silvery solo on the harp lends a welcome touch to the plus-size arrangement of "God Bless The Child." The former Little Stevie wants to take you to a world of funky Motown lovin'--why not let him?
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » R&B » Motown
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling For Once In My Life on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top