SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Forest of Feelings

Album: Forest of Feelings
# Song Title   Time
1)    Suite Cassandra
2)    Come On If You Feel Up to It...(And Get Down)
3)    East India
4)    Dixie: March of the Conditioned Souls/Civil War of the Souls
5)    Forest of Feelings, The
6)    Joyce #8
7)    Crystal Image
8)    One Time
9)    Futher In the Forest of Feelings
10)    Promise of Light
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: David L. Sancious (guitar, piano, organ, synthesizer, percussion); Gerald Carboy (bass); Ernest Carter (drums, percussion); Billy Cobham (timpani).
  • Recorded at Columbia Recording Studios, New York in January 1975. Includes liner notes by Dave Marsh.
  • All songs written by David Sancious.
  • Personnel: David Sancious (guitar, electric guitar, piano, electric piano, Clavinet, keyboards, Moog synthesizer, percussion, chimes); Ernest Carter (drums, percussion); James Carter (drums).
  • Liner Note Author: Sid Smith .
  • Recording information: Columbia Recording Studios, New York City (01/1975).
  • Photographer: Fred Lombardi.
  • Arranger: David Sancious.
  • Forest of Feelings is keyboardist/guitarist/composer David Sancious' debut solo effort after leaving Bruce Springsteen's employ. He not only played keyboards on Greetings from Asbury Park, N.J. and The Wild, the Innocent & the E Street Shuffle and the title cut on Born to Run, but also arranged them. A musical polymath, Sancious never met a musical style he didn't like -- or couldn't master. Here he is fully under the sway of jazz-rock fusion and progressive rock. Produced by Billy Cobham, Forest of Feelings features Sancious on an army of keys -- Hammond B-3, clavinet, Moog, acoustic and Rhodes piano, etc. -- but also on guitar (on which he is just as proficient, if not better). His bandmates are drummer Ernest Carter and bassist Gerald Carboy. Cobham makes a guest timpani appearance on the opening stunner, "Suite Cassandra," a tune that takes inspiration in equal parts from Bach, Yes, Emerson, Lake & Palmer, and Return to Forever, but isn't derivative of or beholden to any of them. The playing here is as fluid as it is knotty. "Come on If You Feel Up to It... (And Get Down)" is screaming funky jazz-rock, with Sancious displaying his guitar heroics while the rhythm section breaks the tune's architecture all the way down before sending it soaring. Without at all being patronizing, Sancious reinvents "Dixie," thoroughly reharmonizing and recontextualizing it in a brief two-part suite that carries within its expansive reach all the historical and social darkness that greeted its melody in the civil rights era. The title track, with its legato phrasing and raging argpeggios on acoustic piano (before the wall of electronic keys kick in), reveals his command of jazz language as it meets rock head-on. "One Time," with its precise serpentine melody, contains a deep funk backbone, a jazzman's sense of syncopation, and rock & roll dynamics. The guitar solos are both meaty and spiraling. Closer "Further in the Forest of Feelings" has a rhythmic intensity that recalls Mahavishnu Orchestra on Inner Mounting Flame and the emotionally soulful expressiveness of Santana during the Caravanserai era. Forest of Feelings is an auspicious debut that delivers not only a mastery of various musical genres, but a holistic view of them. Just as the whole fusion thang was moving toward an increasingly irrelevant technician's language devoid of any cultural connection other than its own, this culturally advanced, spiritually open set hit the shelves. This music sounds as refreshing and life-affirming in the 21st century as it did in 1975. [The Esoteric reissue has been beautifully remastered by Paschal Byrne and contains new liner notes with Sancious quotes by Sid Smith and a bonus cut played on solo piano, entitled "Promise of Light."] ~ Thom Jurek
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » Fusion
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Forest of Feelings on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top