Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Forth [CD/DVD]

New or Used: 2 copies from $26.40
Album: Forth [CD/DVD]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Sit and Wonder
2)    Love Is Noise
3)    Rather Be
4)    Judas
5)    Numbness
6)    I See Houses
7)    Noise Epic
8)    Valium Skies
9)    Columbo
10)    Appalachian Springs
1)    Space & Time: The Verve Documentary
2)    Live at Coachella, April 2008
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Richard Ashcroft (vocals, acoustic guitar, keyboards); Nick McCabe (guitar, autoharp, keyboards, vibraphone); Davide Rossi (violin, electric violin); Simon Jones (bass guitar); Peter Salisbury (drums, percussion).
  • Audio Mixers: Chris Potter ; Tim Bran; Cameron Jenkins.
  • Recording information: Coachella Music Festival; State Of The Ark Studios, London, England.
  • FORTH (2008) is the Verve's first album since 1997's URBAN HYMNS. Listening to the album, it not only seems that the 11 intervening years have passed in a blink, but that the old-school Verve of the NORTHERN SOUL-era--dark, surging, and hypnotic--is back in full force. While the members of the Verve kept plenty busy during their hiatus--especially singer Richard Ashcroft, who embarked on a successful solo career--something uniquely thrilling is sparked when these four individuals play together.
  • Opener "Sit and Wonder" thumps along with dancey insistence, offering energetic counterpoint to the album's more dreamy, downtempo moments. "Love is Noise," the album's lead-off single, is classic Verve, balancing Ashcroft's shamanistic croon with Nick McCabe's swirling universe of guitar. The rest of the album follows suit, and while it may not exceed their classic efforts, it is--with its sonic adventurousness, lush atmospheres, and distinctive sound--a welcome addition to their catalogue.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (p.71) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "In 'Judas,' McCabe fires bird-cry bursts of twang and threads long, humming lines through Ashcroft's R&B whoops. 'Love Is Noise' is smart acid-dance candy notched with a laughing-choir vocal hook."

Spin (p.112) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "FORTH makes a strong case for the continued vitality of big-tent guitar anthems. On 'Love Is Noise,' Ashcroft bemoans our modern times over a sleekly propulsive dance-rock groove the Killers would kill for..."

CMJ - "[T]hey certainly sound self-assured on FORTH....A welcome reminder of the power of the group's chemistry."

Q (Magazine) (p.103) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "FORTH re-establishes McCabe as a supreme sonic texturalist in the lineage of My Bloody Valentine or Cocteau Twins."

Blender (Magazine) (p.86) - 3.5 stars out of 5 -- "The best new tracks are the prettiest: Guitarist Nick McCabe's luscious noodling provides a perfect foil for frontman Richard Ashcroft's grand wail on 'Rather Be'..."

Paste (magazine) (p.57) - "The swirling groover 'Sit And Wonder,' the driving gospel rocker 'Love Is Noise' and the liquid gold streaked through 'Appalachian Springs' are as good as anything The Verve has recorded..."

URB (Magazine) (p.84) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "Lead single 'Love is Noise' comes closest to gold, with its Balearic sample and energetic, almost danceable, rhythms."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Forth [CD/DVD] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top