SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

From The Beginning

Album: From The Beginning
# Song Title   Time
  Disc 1
1)    That's All Album Version More Info... 3:45
2)    (Back Home Again In) Indiana Album Version More Info... 5:13
3)    Stuffy Album Version More Info... 4:14
4)    Exactly Like You More Info... 4:36
5)    Ill Wind (You're Blowin' Me No Good) Album Version More Info... 4:02
6)    Broadway Album Version More Info... 4:20
7)    Blue Room Album Version More Info... 4:04
8)    Sometimes I'm Happy Album Version More Info... 6:25
  Disc 2
1)    East Of The Sun Album Version More Info... 5:41
2)    There Is No Greater Love Album Version More Info... 4:13
3)    Rough Ridin' Album Version More Info... 4:24
4)    These Foolish Things (Remind Me Of You) Album Version More Info... 3:43
5)    I Want To Be Happy Album Version More Info... 3:17
6)    Everything Happens To Me Album Version More Info... 3:39
7)    Love Me Or Leave Me Album Version More Info... 4:05
8)    Blues For The Players Album Version More Info... 4:17
9)    The Very Thought Of You Album Version More Info... 6:21
10)    It Could Happen To You Album Version More Info... 4:46
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • All tracks have been digitally remastered.
  • Personnel includes: Scott Hamilton (tenor saxophone); Bill Berry (trumpet); Nat Pierce (piano); Monty Budwig (bass); Jake Hanna (drums).
  • Recorded at Sunwest Studios, Hollywood, California in 1977. Originally released on Concord Records (4042-2). Includes liner notes by Leonard Feather.
  • Personnel includes: Scott Hamilton (tenor saxophone); Nat Pierce (piano); Cal Collins (guitar); Monty Budwig (bass); Jake Hanna (drums).
  • Recorded at Sunwest Studios, Hollywood, California in January 1978. Originally released on Concord Records (4061-2). Includes liner notes by John S. Wilson.
  • Personnel: Scott Hamilton (tenor saxophone); Cal Collins (guitar); Bill Berry (trumpet); Nat Pierce (piano); Jake Hanna (drums).
  • Audio Remixer: Phil Edwards .
  • Liner Note Authors: John S. Wilson ; Leonard Feather.
  • Recording information: Sunwest Recording Studios, Inc., Hollywood, CA (01/1978).
  • Whoever decided to name '50s-style, small combo jazz "mainstream" did a disservice to saxophonists like Scott Hamilton. The word sounds safe and soulless. And while Hamilton will never be mistaken for John Coltrane, he's no throwback to some fondly remembered (and forgotten) era. From the Beginning combines the oddly titled Scott Hamilton Is a Good Wind Who is Blowing Us No Ill from 1977 and Scott Hamilton, 2 from 1978. Hamilton's first Concord album predated the Young Lions by a couple of years, and must have seemed like a fresh breeze in the midst of the fusion meltdown. Both discs feature small combos with pianist Nat Pierce, bassist Monty Budwig, and drummer Jake Hanna. The two sets only part ways in one significant fashion: trumpeter Bill Berry joins the first set while guitarist Cal Collins joins the second. The first disc opens with a lovely take on "That's All." Set against Pierce's impressionistic backing, Hamilton patiently outlines the melody, filling each note with deep feeling. The band sparkles on Coleman Hawkins' "Stuffy," laying down a loose groove that allows abundant room for bright solos. An acoustic guitar riff pushes off "East of the Sun" on disc two, preparing the listener for 45 more minutes of radiant jazz. Once upon a time, a record buyer would've had to make a choice between Hamilton's excellent first and second albums, between an expressive trumpet and a dynamic guitar. Now, Concord has arranged it so that the listener need only make one purchase. From the Beginning serves as an excellent introduction to the warm tones of tenor saxophonist Scott Hamilton. ~ Ronnie D. Lankford, Jr.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling From The Beginning on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top