Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

From The Beginning [Digitally Remastered]

Album: From The Beginning [Digitally Remastered]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Runaway Mono Version More Info... 2:47
2)    My Mind's Eye More Info... 2:02
3)    Yesterday, Today And Tomorrow Mono Version More Info... 1:53
4)    That Man More Info... 2:14
5)    My Way Of Giving First Mono Version More Info... 1:58
6)    Hey Girl More Info... 2:15
7)    (Tell Me) Have You Ever Seen Me First Mono Version More Info... 2:18
8)    Take This Hurt Off Me More Info... 2:18
9)    All Or Nothing More Info... 3:03
10)    Baby Don't You Do It More Info... 2:01
11)    Plum Nellie More Info... 2:31
12)    Sha La La La Lee Mono Version More Info... 2:55
13)    You've Really Got A Hold On Me More Info... 3:17
14)    What'Cha Gonna Do About It More Info... 1:57
15)    My Mind's Eye French EP Version More Info... 1:52
16)    Hey Girl French EP Version More Info... 2:13
17)    Take This Hurt Off Me Different Version More Info... 2:14
18)    Baby Don't You Do It Different Version More Info... 1:58
19)    What'Cha Gonna Do About It BBC "Saturday Club" Session Recording More Info... 2:11
Product Details


Performer Notes
  • The 1997 release of FROM THE BEGINNING contains 5 additional tracks that were not contained on the original release.
  • The Small Faces: Steve Marriott (vocals, guitar); Ian McLagen (vocals, guitar, organ); Ronnie Lane (vocals, bass); Jimmy Winston (organ); Kenney Jones (drums).
  • Includes liner notes by John Reed.
  • Digitally remastered by John Astley and Simon Heyworth.
  • Personnel: Steve Marriott (vocals, guitar); Kenney Jones (vocals, drums); Jimmy Winston, Ronnie Lane (vocals).
  • Audio Remasterers: Jon Astley; Simon Heyworth.
  • Liner Note Authors: John Tracey; John Reed.
  • Unknown Contributor Roles: Jimmy Winston; Ian McLagan; Kenney Jones; Ronnie Lane; Steve Marriott.
  • Another remastering of a classic piece of mid-'60s British rock & soul, and as important and enjoyable a record as, say, the Beatles' Rubber Soul or the Stones' Aftermath, even if the album itself was slapped together by Decca in an effort to undercut the band's first new release for rival Immediate Records in 1967. Steve Marriott's honest, agonized cover of the Del Shannon classic "Runaway" almost makes up for the fact that neither Otis Redding nor Marvin Gaye ever got around to applying their respective talents to this jewel of a song. That's just the opening number, and there's some stuff even better than that here. There are some songs that overlap with the Immediate stuff, including some really spaced-out psychedelia ("Yesterday, Today, and Tomorrow"), cool dance numbers ("Have You Ever Seen Me"), some repeated tracks ("What'cha Gonna Do About It," "Sha-La-La-La-Lee") from the Decca Small Faces album), killer Motown paeans ("You've Really Got a Hold on Me" -- picture the early Who on a really, really good day covering this), and one original ("All or Nothing") that should be required listening for anyone who thinks they know the best music of the British invasion. And then there are the five bonus tracks, four from French-issued EPs that are completely different (and better) takes of "Baby Don't You Do It" et al, and a live BBC-recorded version of "What'cha Gonna Do About It." Marriott's playing on the latter is so loud and powerful, it could have melted the instruments of any American garage band this side of the Litter. At $11.99 list, this disc and its companion Small Faces reissue are the biggest British Invasion bargains going. ~ Bruce Eder
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling From The Beginning [Digitally Remastered] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top