Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Ghost Town [Digipak]

Album: Ghost Town [Digipak]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Travelin' Teardrop Blues
2)    Goodbye to Old Missoula
3)    My Love Will Not Change
4)    Love and Happiness for You
5)    Poor Old Dirt Farmer
6)    Should I Be Singing the Blues?
7)    Got Leavin' on Her Mind
8)    Here I Am in Love Again
9)    She's Too Good for Me
10)    Less and Less
11)    Which Way Do We Go
12)    Light in the Forest
13)    Goin' Back to Bowling Green
14)    Don't We All Feel Like That
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Mike Phelan (vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, baritone guitar, dobro); Dan Wheetman (vocals, acoustic guitar, banjo); Jack Clement (vocals, acoustic guitar, ukulele); Ed Littlefield Jr. (vocals, pedal steel guitar); Jon Wilcox (vocals, mandolin); Jerry Fletcher (vocals, accordion, piano, Hammond b-3 organ, drums); Kimmie Rhodes, Brooks Watson (vocals); Shawn Camp, Billy Burnette (acoustic guitar); Matthew Gephart (baritone guitar); Walter Forbes (banjo); Hoot Hester (mandolin, fiddle); Joey Miskulin (accordion); Rick Lonow (drums, percussion).
  • Audio Mixers: Daniel Protheroe; Matthew Gephart; Jack Clement; Brooks Watson.
  • Recording information: Cowboy Arms Hotel And Recording Spa, Nashville, TN; Sage Arts, Arlington, WA.
  • The quartet of multi-instrumentalists, singer/songwriters, and amateur folklorists known as Marley's Ghost got its start in the San Francisco Bay Area in the late '80s. They usually balance their repertoire between traditional tunes and originals written in a traditional manner, and are known for arrangements that can veer from folk-rock to reggae while dropping in plenty of gospel, blues, country, old-time music, bluegrass, Celtic, and the odd sea shanty along the way. They've been trying to get some national attention for their music for a long time, and although they've been a major draw at folk festivals for more than a decade, the average music fan has remained vaguely disinterested. Perhaps that's why they decided on a change of direction this time out. They've added a drummer to give the tunes a little more punch, and much of the album was recorded with Cowboy Jack Clement in Nashville with arrangements that stick close to country, albeit mostly acoustic country in a more roots music than Nashville style. "My Love Will Not Change," a Shawn Camp/Billy Burnette tune, is midway between a country two-step and a zydeco hoedown and includes some splendid pedal steel from Ed Littlefield, Jr. and sprightly fiddling from guest Hoot Hester. "Love and Happiness for You," an Emmylou Harris tune, has a laid-back Tex-Mex feel, with new member Jerry Fletcher's piano and sideman Jerry Mishkulin's accordion adding to the tune's melancholy feel. John Hartford's "Here I Am in Love Again" and Don Williams' "Which Way Do We Go" get straightforward country arrangements, the latter with a piano part that recalls Floyd Cramer's work on Hank Locklin's "Please Help Me I'm Falling." The band's originals are a bit more adventurous. Mike Phelan's "Should I Be Singing the Blues?" is midway between a '40s torch song and a mellow bit of Texas swing, while Dan Wheetman's "Don't We All Feel Like That" has a slight Latin tinge in its rhythm and brings to mind the southern Appalachian rhumba of Jesse Winchester. The Ghosts show off their usual multi-instrumental dexterity throughout, but it's possible that this change of direction may alienate old fans without necessarily bringing in any new country and Americana listeners. ~ j. poet
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Ghost Town [Digipak] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top