Download the Free Fishpond App!
Download on the App Store

Android App on Google play
Girl In The Other Room (Super Audio CD)

Already own it?

Sell Yours
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Vocal » Classic Pop Vocals

Girl In The Other Room

Super Audio CD

Artist: Diana Krall (Recorded By)

Free shipping Australia wide
Ships from USA
Order now for Christmas delivery
Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Album: Girl In The Other Room (Super Audio CD)
# Song Title   Time
1)    Stop This World
2)    Girl in the Other Room, The
3)    Temptation
4)    Almost Blue
5)    I've Changed My Address
6)    Love Me Like a Man
7)    I'm Pulling Through
8)    Black Crow
9)    Narrow Daylight
10)    Abandoned Masquerade
11)    I'm Coming Through
12)    Departure Bay

Performer Notes
  • This is an Enhanced CD, which contains both regular audio tracks and multimedia computer files.
  • Personnel: Diana Krall (vocals, piano); Neil Larson (Hammond B-3 organ); Anthony Wilson (guitar); Christian McBride, John Clayton (bass); Peter Erskine, Jeff Hamilton, Terri Lynne Carrington (drums).
  • Recorded at Capitol Studios, Hollywood, California and Avatar Studios, New York, New York.
  • It may or may not be significant that Diana Krall's first album of new material since the ascendance of Norah Jones is the former's least jazzy, most pop-savvy album of her career. In any case, it marks Krall's biggest departure to date; THE GIRL IN THE OTHER ROOM is almost entirely devoid of the jazz standards that constituted her previous repertoire, and it contains her first recorded batch of original songs. It's possible that new husband Elvis Costello, who co-wrote all six of those tunes with his wife, was the agent provocateur. It's also feasible that Costello, who has previously recorded Mose Allison material and palled around with Tom Waits, nudged Krall toward such choice selections as Allison's bluesy plaint "Stop This World" and Waits's cocktail rhumba "Temptation." Nevertheless, Krall delivers them--like the rest of the songs here--in a misty, laconic style very consistent with her earlier work.
  • There's no attempt at pop-oriented production here, just the same piano-trio sound that's been Krall's stock in trade all along. Ironically, the jazziest tune here is Costello's early-1980s ballad "Almost Blue," previously performed by Chet Baker. Naturally, the new songs also bear the unmistakable stamp of Costello, but no matter how far afield her song sources (Joni Mitchell and Chris Smither's catalogs are drawn on as well), Krall maintains the trademark feel that made her famous.

Professional Reviews
Q (p.100) - 3 stars out of 5 - "[T]here's a bolder choice of material....Her playing has loosened up too..."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.97) - 3 stars out of 5 - "Krall is darkly exhilarating in the raucous Mose Allison opener 'Stop This World,' then coolly compelling in Tom Waits' 'Temptation'..."

Format:CD (0 Disc); Stereo
Country:United States
Studio/Live: Studio
Release Date:26 April, 2004
Guest Artist: Peter Erskine; Christian McBride; Terri Lyne Carrington


1. Stop The World

2. The Girl In The Other Room

3. Temptation

4. Almost Blue

5. I've Changed My Address

6. Love Me Like A Man

7. I'm Pulling Through

8. Black Crow

9. Narrow Daylight

10. Abandoned Masuerade

11. I'm Coming Through

12. Departure Bay

Tell a friend

Their Email:

Sell Yours

Already own this item?
Sell Yours and earn some cash. It's fast and free to list! (Learn More.)

Review this Product


Related Searches


Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners

You can earn a 5% commission by selling Girl In The Other Room (Super Audio CD) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep!



Are you the Author/Publisher? Improve sales by submitting additional information on this title.


This item ships from and is sold by, Inc.