Australasia's Biggest Online Store

Turn your Clutter Into Cash with SmartSell.TM Book a Courier Pickup Today!

Glenn Branca

Album: Glenn Branca: Symphony Nos. 8 & 10 "The Mysteries"
# Song Title   Time
1)    Symphony No. 8 (The Mystery) 1992: First Movement (The Passion)
2)    Symphony No. 8 (The Mystery) 1992: Second Movement (Spiritual Anachy)
3)    Symphony No. 10 (The Mystery), Pt. 2 1994: First Movement (The ...)
4)    Symphony No. 10 (The Mystery), Pt. 2 1994: Second Movement (The Horror)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel includes: Glenn Branca, Page Hamilton, Algis Kyzis, Carolyn Master.
  • Recorded at Sorcerer Sound Studios, New York, New York.
  • Personnel: Glenn Branca (guitar); John Myers, Ellen Watkins, Eric Hubel, Carolyn Master, Phil Kline, David Reid (guitar); Miriam McDonough (keyboards); Virgil Moorefield (drums).
  • Audio Mixer: Steve McAllister.
  • Liner Note Author: Tim Holmes.
  • Recording information: Sorcerer Sound Studios, New York, NY (1994).
  • Ensembles: John Myers; Brannon Hungness; Ellen Watkins; Eric Hubel; Glenn Branca; Miriam McDonough; Carolyn Master; Phil Kline; Virgil Moorefield; David Reid.
  • Subtitled "The Mystery" and "The Mystery Pt. 2," these two symphonies concern themselves with the two big questions: Life and Death. They are both scored for eight guitars, two basses, keyboard, drums, vocal and two conductors. Symphony No. 8 has two movements: "The Passion" and "Spiritual Anarchy" that both build upon sustained tones that create a counterpoint by means of delays in scale and other patterns and microtunings. The effect is tremendously intense and beautiful. There are also two movements in Symphony No. 10: "The Final Problem" and "The Horror." These are built in a similar manner to the techiques in No. 8 but the tuning and scales employed are different, creating another sensation yet still as intense and continuous in rhythm as No. 8. Especially successful is the final movement, "The Horror," which employs masses of moving clusters that are very close in tuning and thoroughly convincing in the image they portray. It is a gigantic chant of worlds never before imagined. Incidentally, the CD comes with a nifty holographic cover that visually simulates Branca's dense textures. ~ "Blue" Gene Tyranny
Professional Reviews
Melody Maker (3/2/96, p.37) - " sounds like the bit on `Rock Lobster' after Fred says, `DOWN! DOWN!'--but played by a million guitars. Which sounds like half a dozen violins. Which sounds bloody marvellous."

NME (Magazine) (3/16/96, p.49) - 7 (out of 10) - "...banks of `sheet metal guitars' are pummeled into the most unlikely of shapes...a HUGE wall of noise that is arty and brooding..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Glenn Branca: Symphony Nos. 8 & 10 "The Mysteries" on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top