Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed


Goddess is the debut studio album by American singer and songwriter Banks, released on September 5, 2014 by Harvest Records. It includes all four tracks from her second extended play (EP) London (2013), while the deluxe edition includes two tracks from her debut extended play Fall Over (2013). The album spawned four singles: "Warm Water", "Brain", "Drowning", and "Beggin for Thread"
Album: Goddess
# Song Title   Time
1)    Alibi
2)    Goddess
3)    Waiting Game
4)    Brain
5)    This Is What It Feels Like
6)    You Should Know Where I'm Coming From
7)    Stick
8)    F*** Em Only We Know
9)    Drowning
10)    Beggin for Thread
11)    Change
12)    Someone New
13)    Warm Water
14)    Under the Table
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Recording information: Golden Touch Studios, Los Angeles, CA; Lion Aboard, London, UK; Mixed Management Studios, Los Angeles, CA; One Yard Studio, London, UK; Sorona Studios, Los Angeles, CA; Werewolf Heart Studios, Los Angeles, CA; Young Turks Studios, London, UK.
  • Photographer: Barnaby Roper.
  • On her debut album, Goddess, Banks sounds like the logical conclusion of several 2010s musical trends: her moody, confessional lyrics echo Lorde, Lykke Li, and Lana Del Rey, while the downtempo sonics recall cutting-edge R&B talents like Tinashe, FKA Twigs, and former tourmate the Weeknd. Goddess covers a formidable amount of musical ground as it ranges from piano ballads (such as the Justin Parker-produced, Adele-esque "You Should Know Where I'm Coming From") to starkly electronic tracks (the tense, finger-snapping "Stick"), but the album's best moments focus on Banks' personality. On songs like the title track, she crafts a persona that's sexy, brooding, and more than a little dismissive; on "Brain"'s chorus ("I can see you struggling/Boy, don't hurt your brain/Thinking what you're gonna say"), she's a lot dismissive. Goddess also includes several songs that already appeared on the London EP, such as "Change" and "Waiting Game," along with newer highlights like the brashly romantic "Fuck Em Only We Know," the high-drama "Beggin for Thread," and the intimate "Warm Water." ~ Heather Phares
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone - 3.5 stars out of 5 -- "[H]er debut LP confirms a beguiling, diaristic voice that echoes avant-pop forebears and a taste for gloomy, synth-centric productions."

CMJ - "[I]t's endlessly smooth..The production here is solid too."

Clash (magazine) - "[B]allads such as `Under The Table' hark back to her humble piano-and-voice origins."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Goddess on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top