Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Good as I Been to You

Album: Good as I Been to You
# Song Title   Time
1)    Frankie & Albert [Remastered]
2)    Jim Jones [Remastered]
3)    Blackjack Davey [Remastered]
4)    Canadee-I-O [Remastered]
5)    Sittin' on Top of the World [Remastered]
6)    Little Maggie [Remastered]
7)    Hard Times [Remastered]
8)    Step It Up and Go [Remastered]
9)    Tomorrow Night [Remastered]
10)    Arthur McBride [Remastered]
11)    You're Gonna Quit Me [Remastered]
12)    Diamond Joe [Remastered]
13)    Froggie Went a Courtin' [Remastered]
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • GOOD AS I BEEN TO YOU, recorded live in the studio in one take, is Bob Dylan's first solo-acoustic release since 1965.
  • Solo performer: Bob Dylan (vocals, acoustic guitar, harmonica).
  • This 1992 release was Dylan's first solo acoustic release since his early-'60s folkie period. By the early '90s, the archetypal song poet had gone down so many wrong compositional roads he rightly decided it was time to take a break from songwriting. While time would prove him right (his next album of original material was 1997's sublime TIME OUT OF MIND), even he probably didn't bank on GOOD AS I BEEN TO YOU turning out to be such a gem. Focusing on traditional folk songs like "Blackjack Davey," the wry "Arthur McBride" and even the musty old chestnut "Froggie Went A Courtin'," Dylan reinvents his Guthrie-derived '60s folk style, using the age and wisdom inherent in his raspy voice to invest these songs with new life. GOOD AS I BEEN TO YOU turned out to be such a good idea, Zimmy followed it with the similar (but even better) WORLD GONE WRONG.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (1/7/93, p.45) - 4 Stars (out of 5) - "...proves once again that Dylan can still be every bit as good as he's been to us in the past. Which is, of course, as good as it gets....a passionate piece of work..."

Entertainment Weekly (11/13/92, p.76) - "...All you'll hear throughout this stunningly humble offering are an acoustic guitar, a spare harmonica, and one singularly raspy, nasally voice. Listen hard enough, though, and you might just feel the spirit of Woody Guthrie hovering overhead as well..." - Rating: A

Q (1/93, p.70) - Included in Q's list of the 50 Best Albums Of 1992.

Q (12/92, p.116) - 4 Stars (out of 5) - "...Dylan will not only tempt many lapsed fans back into the fold but give everyone who has held a candle for the old buzzard cause for rejoice....he plays guitar with a sweetly eloquent dexterity not heard since 1963..."

Vox (12/92, p.66) - 8 - Very Good - "...[an] undeniably appealing album....To hear Dylan in all his solo glory is to hear the solo tradition re-emerge....This is Bob Dylan, sounding weary at journey's end, but enriched, invigorated by the past, and ready to face a new beginning..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Good as I Been to You on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top