Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Grown Man

Album: Grown Man
# Song Title   Time
1)    Birthday Present
2)    Grown Man
3)    That Hospital
4)    Housework
5)    Cobwebs
6)    Year
7)    Father-Daughter Dialogue
8)    1994
9)    IWIWAL
10)    Just a John
11)    I Suppose
12)    Dreaming
13)    End Has Begun
14)    Human Cannonball
15)    Treasures Untold
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Loudon Wainwright III (vocals, guitar); Chaim Tannenbaum (vocals, harmonica, banjo); Jeffrey Lesser (vocals, percussion, jew's harp); Martha Wainwright (vocals); David Mansfield (acoustic, electric, pedal steel & slide guitars, mandolin, bouzouki, fiddle); Dominic Cortese (accordian); Steve Gaboury (accordion, organ, keyboards); Randy Landau (acoustic bass); Richard Crooks (drums); John Kaye (percussion).
  • Producers: Loudon Wainwright III, Jeffrey Lesser.
  • Recorded at RPM Sound Studios, New York, New York; Knoop Music, River Edge, New Jersey; and Beartracks Recording Studio, Suffern, New York.
  • Personnel: Loudon Wainwright III (vocals, guitar); Chaim Tannenbaum (vocals, banjo, harmonica); Jeffrey Lesser (vocals, Jew's harp, percussion); Martha Wainwright (vocals); David Mansfield (guitar, electric guitar, slide guitar, bouzouki, mandolin, fiddle); Steve Gaboury (accordion, organ, keyboards); Dominic Cortese (accordion); Richard Crooks (drums); John Kaye (percussion).
  • Recording information: Bear Tracks Studio, Suffern, NY; Knoop Music, River Edge, NJ; RPM Sound Studios, New York, NY.
  • This fine album appeared just after Loudon Wainwright turned 48. This information is offered up in the first song, "The Birthday Present," a track that's sounds as though it was sung in a shower. Throughout his career, most of Wainwright's songs have examined, in one way or another, his own life. This album addresses the subjects of aging, the death of a parent, and a move back to Westchester County, New York after some years spent living in London.
  • His daughter Martha joins him to sing "Father/Daughter Dialogue," which takes a hard look at Wainwright's practice of parading in public the ups and downs of his private life through his songs. Elsewhere, there is a pair of hauntingly odes to hopes, dreams, and harsh realities, "Dreaming" and "The End Has Begun." GROWN MAN was expertly producer by Jeffrey Lesser and is bolstered the playing of a small ensemble of longtime Wainwright cohorts. The set winds down beautifully with a cover of Jimmie Rodger's "Treasure Untold."
Professional Reviews
Entertainment Weekly (1/19/96, p.52) - "No one rips apart his own life like folk's oldest living adolescent....Thankfully, Wainwright hasn't lost his knack for sharp small-band arrangements or his sense of humor..."

- Rating: A-
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Folk » General
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Grown Man on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top