Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed


Album: Hannibalism!
# Song Title   Time
1)    Big Chief Hug-Um an' Kiss Um
2)    Take a Chance on Me
3)    Please Take a Chance on Me
4)    Motha Goose Breaks Loose
5)    Fall in Love With Me
6)    My Name Is Hannibal
7)    Bigest Cry, The
8)    I Need a Woman ('cause I'm a Man)
9)    Baby Please Change Your Mind
10)    My Kinda Girl
11)    All Night Long
12)    Jerkin' the Dog
13)    In the Midnight Hour - (live)
14)    Hymn No. 5
15)    Fishin'pole
16)    Shame, Shame
17)    Trying to Make It Through
18)    Get Back
19)    Right to Love You, The
20)    Good Time
21)    I Just Want Some Love
22)    Get in the Groove
23)    Somebody in the World for You
24)    We're Gonna Make It
25)    Mee Me at Mary's Lace
26)    I'm Coming Home
27)    Truth Shall Make You Free, The
28)    Party Life - (previously unreleased)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Compilation producers: Billy Miller, Miriam Linna.
  • Recorded between 1958 and 1972. Includes liner notes by The Mighty Hannibal.
  • Liner Note Author: The Mighty Hannibal.
  • Recording information: 1958-1973.
  • The first-ever CD compilation of singles from the uncompromising Mighty Hannibal features his groundbreaking antiwar hit, "Hymn No. 5," as well as minor hits like "Jerkin' the Dog" and "I Need a Woman (Cause I'm a Man)." More revealing, perhaps, is the inclusion of several early-'70s tracks that inexplicably could not find a label to release them at the time. However, the sweet and tender declaration of love "We're Gonna Make It" and the good-time party tune "Meet Me at Mary's Place" do not prepare one for the saga of "I'm Coming Home." It is now five years after "Hymn No. 5," and the soldier's younger brother is shipping out, leaving a much more chaotic America behind: Drugs and riots are destroying his home city. He has hope, though, that he will return to a better country than he left. The song is as resonant and remarkable as the similarly themed material Marvin Gaye would release the following year. The fact that this song never saw commercial release is more than a little bit telling of the indifferent music industry Hannibal was forced to contend with. Perhaps if he had the support of a label with the prestige and promotional muscle of Motown, the story would be different. Hannibal's music is classic indie soul at its best. ~ John Duffy
Professional Reviews
Living Blues (11-12/01, p.76) - "...These 28 tracks...epitomize Southern soul at its finest - and most obscure..."
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » R&B » General
Home » Music » Funk & Soul » Soul
People also searched for
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Hannibalism! on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top