SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Hard Grind

Album: Hard Grind
# Song Title   Time
1)    Dark as the Night Cold as the Ground
2)    Blues Story II
3)    Run Here Boy
4)    One Drop Blues
5)    All Night Party
6)    Midnight Dream
7)    Long Way to Go
8)    Walk Right Shoes
9)    Down to the Valley
10)    Tight Like That
11)    Seek That Truth
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Little Axe includes: Jayme McDonald (vocals); Skip "Little Axe" McDonald (guitar, keyboards, background vocals); Alan Glen (harmonica); Keith Le Blanc (drums).
  • Personnel: Bim Sherman (vocals, background vocals); Jayme "Piscis Jayme" McDonald (vocals); Kieran Kiely (pipe); Alan Glen (harmonica); Nick Plytas (keyboards); Keith LeBlanc (drums); Ghetto Priest (background vocals).
  • Recording information: On-U-Sound, Konk Studios.
  • Photographer: Craig Oddy.
  • Little Axe's debut album, The Wolf That House Built, issued in 1994, created the mold for Moby's Play album -- and he knows it. With its blend of deep, slow-grooved beats, loops, sampled voices of blues singers, heavy dub reggae effects, kicking drums, and wailing guitar, it was the roots music precedent to the bald one's fine record by half a decade. Eight years later, Little Axe returns with a new set that will no doubt be compared to Play when in reality it is in a league of its own. The sophomore effort issued by legendary reggae producer and mixmaster Adrian Sherwood, guitarist Skip McDonald, bassist Doug Wimbish, and drummer Keith LeBlanc is a dreamy, hazy cipher of an album that settles slowly and lazily over the listener, displacing his or her sense of time and space in the mix and then turning his or her approach to listening to blues and rhythm inside out. It features the voices of bluesmen telling stories and snippets of singers wafting ghostily out of the ether only to re-enter the mist and wind themselves around a slow, sultry, steamy rhythm, a heavily seductive mix that slithers around McDonald's awesome and understated guitar playing. It comes from the swampy underbelly of the Delta blues bible, and Sherwood's smoky, dubbed-out effects, loops, and echo chambers are everywhere, with sounds that come from out of time yet seem to belong right where they are. The set opens with a read of Blind Willie Johnson's "Dark Was the Night Cold Was the Ground," with his voice coming out of the grave and talking about the blues. On "All Night Party," the late Junior Kimbrough's voice entwines with those of absent friends and collaborators such as historians, preachers, and the players themselves with a shifting, careening mix that turns the blues motif into the fifth element, in the terrain where it encounters the seam of reggae becoming undone. On "Walk Right Shoes," country blues gets the hoodoo treatment, and the refrain of "Riding on the White Horse" is as much a metaphor for heroin as it is for a ride to heaven amid the voices of some well-known blues-rock greats. Overall, the record is spooky, almost mystical; it's a soundtrack for a film that could never be made, so complex is its plot (and blood) line, and is more enjoyable than anything Ry Cooder ever laid down for celluloid. This is music from another world; its roots are swindled, warped, and turned upside down and inside out, but they are never disrespected. The notion of song is ever-present and hypnotic; the continuity and consistency in the mixes from one track to the next are without peer. Hard Grind is the album that should have been the soundtrack for writhing late-night sexual trysts, dark morning soul-searching, long drives into the unknown, and sitting still and staring into the face of oblivion. ~ Thom Jurek
Professional Reviews
Q (6/02, p.116) - 3 stars out of 5 - "...With hints of southern gospel, arching guitar and some blues raps from the US Library Of Congress's archives, this is fascinating, deeply convincing."

Alternative Press (8/02, p.76) - 7 out of 10 - "...With HARD GRIND, Fat Possum continues to haul the blues into, if not the future, at least the present day..."

Vibe (8/02, p.165) - 4 out of 5 - "...Futuristically funky, this disc shows that the digital superhighway's crossroads can be as fertile as an analog one..."

Mojo (Publisher) (7/02, p.108) - "...Damn fine stuff, indeed."

NME (Magazine) (6/1/02, p.37) - 8 out of 10 - "...HARD GRIND widens the blues catchment area to include elements of dub, funk, gospel and hip-hop..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop
Home » Music » Reggae » Dub
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Hard Grind on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top