Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Have Blues, Will Travel

Album: Have Blues, Will Travel
# Song Title   Time
1)    Have Blues, Will Travel
2)    Got You Out of My Blood
3)    Out of Body, Out of Mind
4)    Ru4 Real?
5)    Payday in America
6)    Shadows in the Dark
7)    My Space or Yours?
8)    Sleeping with One Eye Open
9)    My Guitar
10)    One Step at a Time
11)    Wishful Thinking
12)    What a Sight to See
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Smokin' Joe Kubek (guitar, slide guitar); Bnois King (vocals, guitar); Adrian Marchi (drums).
  • Audio Mixer: Sterling Winfield.
  • Recording information: Nomad Recording Studios, Carrollton, TX.
  • Photographer: James Bland.
  • Listening to the the title track of Have Blues Will Travel that opens the second Alligator set by the no-jive, grit-and-gravy Texas blues duo of Smokin' Joe Kubek and Bnois King, one can't help but recall another Texas outfit that used to rock this hard, playing the roadhouse boogie loud and proud: ZZ Top. Kubek's wicked slide playing and King's wrangling, razored leads trade places; the locked-in rhythm section of bassist John Morris and drummer Adrian Marchie gives them some room to really wail. The comparison is not an idle compliment since ZZ Top haven't sounded like themselves since Deguello. This track alone is almost worth the price of the disc (and certainly the price of a digital download). There are other cuts here that hammer just as hard, too, however: "Out of Body, Out of Mind," "One Step at a Time," and the closer "What a Sight to See" carry the same raw, blistering blues and boogie torch. The rest of the album contains the more conventional Texas Roadhouse blues that this unit has been playing for over 20 years. Not that there's there is anything wrong with that; fans of the Kubek/King partnership will no doubt be delighted by what this 51-minute album holds. That said, hearing the four cuts mentioned above, one wishes for an entire slab packed to the gills with the rangy, unleashed fury these cats can lay down when they want to. ~ Thom Jurek
Professional Reviews
Living Blues (p.46) - "HAVE BLUES WILL TRAVEL is an electrifying expression of guitar braggadocio and passionate Texas-laced soul."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Blues
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Have Blues, Will Travel on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top