Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Head First [Bonus Tracks]

Album: Head First [Bonus Tracks]
# Song Title   Time
1)    The Other Side Of Midnight More Info... 3:57
2)    Stay On Top More Info... 3:36
3)    Lonely Nights More Info... 4:08
4)    Sweet Talk More Info... 3:52
5)    Love Is Blind More Info... 3:38
6)    Roll-Overture More Info... 2:20
7)    Red Lights More Info... 2:59
8)    Rollin' The Rock More Info... 5:23
9)    Straight Through The Heart More Info... 3:50
10)    Weekend Warriors More Info... 3:50
11)    Playing For Time More Info... 4:27
12)    Searching Extended demo More Info... 4:51
13)    The Other Side Of Midnight Live More Info... 4:34
14)    Lonely Nights Live More Info... 6:44
15)    Angel Live More Info... 5:22
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Uriah Heep: Mick Box (vocals, guitar); John Sinclair (vocals, keyboards); Peter Goalby (vocals); Bob Daisley (bass); Lee Kerslake (drums).
  • Additional personnel: Frank Ricotti (percussion).
  • Recorded at The Manor, Oxford, England. Includes liner notes by Mick Box & Robert M. Corich.
  • After rising from the ashes with 1982's impressive Abominog, Uriah Heep continued to pursue a similar combination of heavy metal firepower and AOR sleekness on Head First. This album lacks the consistently strong tunes and unified feel of its predecessor, but it still offers enough highlights to make it worth a listen. Head First does best when it concentrates on songs that evenly balance power chords and pop hooks: "The Other Side of Midnight" cleverly balances a boisterous pop-tinged melody built on a pulsating bassline with plenty of powerful guitar riffing while "Weekend Warriors" layers its shout-along chorus over a slick rock backing that fuses programmed synthesizer lines with high-flying guitar work and relentless double-time drumming from the ever-reliable Lee Kerslake. However, Head First occasionally loses the plot when it strays from this balancing act: "Love Is Blind" works too hard to ape AOR conventions and comes off sounding faceless as a result, while "Roll-Overture" is an ornate prog instrumental that doesn't really fit in with the rest of the album due to its lack of hooks and guitar riffs. The album also runs into problems in the lyrical department due to its overt AOR-styled reliance on the travails of love as its main subject matter (see "Sweet Talk" and "Love Is Blind"). Despite these occasional shortcomings, Head First manages to work, thanks to its consistent high level of energy. Even at its poppiest, the album throbs with guitar-fuelled energy: for a good example look no further than the band's cover of Bryan Adams' "Lonely Nights," where the poppish quality of the melody is boosted into the hard rock stratosphere by a lengthy succession of guitar riffs and a relentless backbeat. In the end, Head First's adherence to AOR stylings may turn off some hard rock fans but there is enough energetic, well-crafted music here to please anyone who liked Abominog.~ Donald A. Guarisco
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Hard Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Head First [Bonus Tracks] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top