SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Head Music [Deluxe Edition] [Digipak]

Album: Head Music [Deluxe Edition] [Digipak]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Electricity
2)    Savoir Faire
3)    Can't Get Enough
4)    Everything Will Flow
5)    Down
6)    She's In Fashion
7)    Asbestos
8)    Head Music
9)    Elephant Man
10)    Hi-Fi
11)    Indian Strings
12)    He's Gone
13)    Crack In the Union Jack
14)    Indian Strings [Brett's Original 8 Track Demo]
15)    Everything Will Flow [Protocol Demo]
16)    He's Gone [Protocol Demo]
17)    She's In Fashion [Protocol Demo]
1)    Leaving
2)    Popstar
3)    Killer
4)    Implement Yeah!
5)    Waterloo
6)    See That Girl
7)    Bored
8)    Pieces of My Mind
9)    Jubilee
10)    God's Gift
11)    Seascape
12)    Crackhead
13)    Let Go
14)    Since You Went Away
15)    Situations
16)    Read My Mind
17)    Poor Little Rich Girl - (featuring Raissa)
18)    Heroin
19)    Music Like Sex - (previously unreleased)
1)    Electricity [Video]
2)    She's In Fashion [Video]
3)    Can't Get Enough [Video]
4)    Everything Will Flow [Video]
5)    Can't Get Enough [Australian Edition] [Video]
6)    Recording "Head Music"
7)    She [Black Sessions, Paris] [Video] - (live)
8)    She's In Fashion - (live)
9)    Electricity - (live)
10)    Everything Will Flow - (live)
11)    Beautiful Ones - (live)
12)    Indian Strings - (live)
13)    Savoir Faire - (live)
14)    Crack In the Union Jack - (live)
15)    Saturday Night - (live)
16)    [Bonus Materials]
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • The London Suede: Brett Anderson (vocals); Richard Oakes (guitar); Neil Codling (synthesizer); Mat Osman (bass); Simon Gilbert (drums).
  • Personnel: Brett Anderson (vocals); Richard Oakes (guitar); Neil Codling (synthesizer); Mat Osman (electric bass); Simon Gilbert (drums).
  • Audio Mixers: Steven Osbourne; Danton Supple.
  • Liner Note Author: Brett Anderson .
  • Recording information: Asylum Studios (04/16/1999).
  • Photographer: Simon Gilbert.
  • Neo-swinging London psychedelic popsters are back with a platter of mysterious melodies and lysergic atmospheres recalling the best of many previous eras of rock and pop. The salacious "Can't Get Enough" rocks like a cross between "Ballroom Blitz"-era Sweet and mid-1960s Pink Floyd. The forlorn ballad "Down" recalls pre-glitter Elton John and ZIGGY STARDUST-era David Bowie. The moody/dreamy, mod-ish "Asbestos" wouldn't be out of place in the soundtrack of a mid-1960s romantic spy thriller (the on-the-beach or the sidewalk-cafT scene). Singer Brett Anderson sings a bit like a subdued yet seductive Bono, and the Suede mix trippy-ness, street-rat-wannabe trashy-ness, catchy tunes and crunchy yet restrained rockin' guitars for a distinctive, hedonistic listen. Fans of old and "new" psychedelia should check out this Suede release.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (6/10/99, pp.122-123) - out of 5 - Good - "...HEAD MUSIC finds these glitter gold diggers still on a creative roll....a truly glorious rush of sexy guitar trash."

Spin (7/99, pp.131-2) - 7 (out of 10) - "...HEAD MUSIC embraces the supposed contradiction of rocking out with a dance-music mentor....a hard precision that brings back the brutality of early Suede while lending a complex sheen to simplistic material..."

Q (1/00, p.87) - Included in Q Magazine's "50 Best Albums of 1999."

Q (6/99, p.108) - 4 Stars (out of 5) - "...this, their fourth proper album, is rooted more in rhythms and electronics than their previous offerings....easily - almost effortlessly - their best and most wholly realised album to date..."

Alternative Press (8/99, p.90) - 4 (out of 5) - "...dramatic, fey and fearless as its predecessors....their best album yet..."

Magnet (8-9/99, p.80) - "...most ruefully fantastic....The band's songs...are odes to the utter worthlessness of it all, burnt up on the edges with narcotics and romance....The London Suede is brighter than ever."

CMJ (5/17/99, p.3) - "...The record slams glam-rock into post-punk, leaving only incandescence in its wake....Ranging from hooky rock rampages to woeful symphonic ballads, HEAD MUSIC is a triumphant release...casts these charming men as the prime contenders to save the Britpop empire."

Melody Maker (5/1/99, p.37) - 4 1/2 stars (out of 5) - "...quite possibly [their] best 'proper' album....[it] remains suedier than the suediest piece of suede in the World of Suede showrooms. It is, in short, absoruddylutely marvellous..."

Guitar Magazine (7/99, p.96) - "...Anderson's songs have become more blatantly erotic odes to excess, from sex and stardom to drugs and the high life....[he] be a skilled melody writer..."

NME (Magazine) (5/1/99, p.38) - 7 out of 10 - "...It's sex, it's drugs, it's suburban ennui, it's frequently hilarious....Suede may be writing some of the most exciting pop of their career..."

Pitchfork (Website) - "HEAD MUSIC is neon to COMING UP's day-glo, and it's aged well sonically -- it is easily the band's most underappreciated album."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Brit Pop
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Head Music [Deluxe Edition] [Digipak] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top