Download the Free Fishpond App!
Download on the App Store

Android App on Google play
Heathen Earth: The Live Sound of Throbbing Gristle

Already own it?

Sell Yours
Home » Music » Pop » Industrial

Heathen Earth

The Live Sound of Throbbing Gristle

Artist: Throbbing Gristle (Recorded By)

Elsewhere $32.35 $19.95   Save $12.40 (38%)
Free shipping Australia wide
Ships from UK
Order Now for Christmas with e-Gift
Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Label: Industrial Records
Album: Heathen Earth: The Live Sound of Throbbing Gristle
# Song Title   Time
1)    Cornet
2)    Old Man Smiled, The
3)    Improvisation
4)    World Is a War Film, The
5)    Something Came Over Me
6)    Still Talking
7)    Bass
8)    Don't Do as You're Told, Do as You Think
9)    Painless Childbirth
1)    Introduction [Sheffield University 1980]
2)    Trained Condition of Obedience [S036 Club, Berlin 1980]
3)    Heathen Earth [Sheffield University 1980]
4)    Old Man Smiled [S036 Club, Berlin 1980], An
5)    Auschwitz [Rafters, Manchester 1980]
6)    Devil's Gateway [Rafters, Manchester 1980]
7)    Punished [Sheffield University 1980]
8)    Tortured Smiles [Sheffield University 1980]
9)    We Said No [Sheffield University 1980]
10)    Subhuman [7" Vinyl Single]
11)    Adrenalin [7" Vinyl Single]

Performer Notes
  • Recorded live in the studio with an invited audience.
  • Personnel: Jon Savage , Peter Walmsley, Martin Scott, Alan Adams, Genesis P-Orridge, Stan Bingo, Chris Carter, Sandy Robertson, Tom Craig, Anthony Murphy, Irene Valls, Glenn Michael Wallis, George Valls, Geoff Rushton, Rosie Antrobus, Kim Norris, Kevin Thorne, Jules Baker, Tana Emmolo, Jonas Almquist, Alex Fergusson, Monte Cazazza, Peter Christopherson, Cosey Fanni Tutti.
  • Audio Remasterer: Chris Carter.
  • Recording information: Studios Of Industrial Records Limited (02/16/1980).
  • 1979's HEATHEN EARTH is Throbbing Gristle's fourth and final studio album, and may well be the most uncompromising of the lot. Nearly all of the many Throbbing Gristle releases available are live documents, and this was recorded in one take before an invited audience. While THE SECOND ANNUAL REPORT is harsher and less melodic, and D.O.A. and 20 JAZZ FUNK GREATS more conceptually unified, HEATHEN EARTH is the album which best exemplifies the group's slogan "Entertainment Through Pain."
  • Singer/mastermind Genesis P-Orridge's lyrics are among his most deliberately provocative, and the electronic tumult of the group is here translated into a relentless sonic thrash and hum, trumpets and found sounds colliding with the tape loops and synths. Highlights are a drastically reworked version of "Six Six Sixties" which is somehow even more disturbing than the original, followed by a declaimed manifesto by P-Orridge.

Format:CD (0 Disc); Stereo
Country:United States
Studio/Live: Live
Release Date:1 November, 2011
Tell a friend

Their Email:

Sell Yours

Already own this item?
Sell Yours and earn some cash. It's fast and free to list! (Learn More.)

Review this Product


Related Searches


Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners

You can earn a 5% commission by selling Heathen Earth: The Live Sound of Throbbing Gristle on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep!



Are you the Author/Publisher? Improve sales by submitting additional information on this title.


This item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.