Australasia's Biggest Online Store

Sell Your Old Stuff for Cash. It's Easy & Free to List. Get Started Now.

Hell Awaits

Album: Hell Awaits
# Song Title   Time
1)    Hell Awaits
2)    At Dawn They Sleep
3)    Praise Of Death
4)    Captor Of Sin
5)    Hardening Of The Arteries
6)    Kill Again
7)    Haunting The Chapel
8)    Necrophiliac
9)    Crypts Of Eternity
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Slayer: Tom Araya (vocals, bass); Jeff Hannemann, Kerry King (guitar); Dave Lombardo (drums).
  • Recorded at Track Record, Los Angeles, California and Eldorado, Hollywood, California.
  • Digitally remastered by Eddy Schreyer (November 1993, Future Disc).
  • With their second album, co-produced by Metal Blade's headbanging head honcho Brian Slagel, Satanic thrashers Slayer upped the ante from their debut in every way. More graphic album art, breakneck tempos, gruesome lyrics, and proper production gave the band a punchier sound while retaining their native aggression. Whereas their debut sounded like a band flirting with the dark side, HELL AWAITS is where the band begins to sound truly sinister and evil. Dave Lombardo's famous double bass drumming strongly came into play here, further propelling the lightspeed riffing and twisted solos of Kerry King and Jeff Hanneman, who would help propagate a style of carpal tunnel-inducing axework for forthcoming generations of extreme metal bands. To accompany this metal maelstrom, bassist Tom Araya appropriately growled and barked out all manner of dark lyrics, exploring the mind of a serial killer ("Kill Again"), vampires (the slower, moodier "At Dawn They Sleep") and the demented lust of a "Necrophiliac." Wisely, the band knew when to mix up their tempos and keep things from sounding homogenized. HELL AWAITS is definitely one of the '80s high water marks for both black and thrash metal.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Hell Awaits on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top