Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

Turn your Clutter Into Cash with SmartSell.TM Book a Courier Pickup Today!

Hello Big Man

Album: Hello Big Man
# Song Title   Time
1)    You Know What to Do
2)    Menemsha
3)    Damn, You Get to Me
4)    Is This Love?
5)    Orpheus
6)    It Happens Everyday
7)    Such a Good Boy
8)    Hello Big Man
9)    You Don't Feel the Same
10)    Floundering
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Carly Simon (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, piano, background vocals); Hugh McCracken (acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Jim Ryan , Jimmy Ryan (acoustic guitar); Dean Parks, Elliott Randall, Eric Gale , Sid McGinnis, Andy Summers (electric guitar); David Sanborn, Lou Marini (alto saxophone); Michael Brecker (tenor saxophone); Ronnie Cuber (baritone saxophone); Jon Faddis, Alan Rubin (trumpet); Don Grolnick (piano, organ, synthesizer); Mike Mainieri (piano, synthesizer, marimba, chimes); Peter Wood (piano, Moog synthesizer); Rob Mounsey (synthesizer, background vocals); Rick Marotta (drums, cymbals, tom tom); Jimmy Bralower, Sly Dunbar (drums); Errol Crusher Bennett (percussion); Lynn Goldsmith, Elizabeth Witham, Rachel Zabar, Fonzi Thornton, Julie Levine, Hugh Taylor, Kate Taylor, Lucy Simon , Marcus Miller, Robbie Shakespeare, Sally Taylor, Tawatha Agee, Ben Taylor (background vocals).
  • Audio Mixer: Frank Filipetti.
  • Recording information: Ocean Way Studios, Los Angeles, CA; Power Station Studios, New York, NY; Power Station, NY; Village Recorders, Los Angeles, CA.
  • Photographers: Lynn Kohlman; Peter Simon.
  • Unknown Contributor Roles: Elizabeth Witham; Rachel Zabar; Julie Levine; Sally Taylor; Ben Taylor .
  • Arranger: Rob Mounsey.
  • Originally released in 1983, HELLO BIG MAN was Carly Simon's final album for Warner Brothers Records. Following 1981's well-reviewed but commercially lackluster collection of jazz and pop standards TORCH, HELLO BIG MAN was another unexpected stylistic detour, featuring Simon recording with the pioneering reggae rhythm section of Sly Dunbar and Robbie Shakespeare. While the resulting music bears an obvious reggae influence (most particularly on a cover of Bob Marley's "Is This Love?"), the overall effect has more in common with slightly younger and more stylistically experimental singer-songwriters such as Joan Armatrading and Rickie Lee Jones. Unfortunately, for all their quirky charms, the album and its single, "You Know What To Do," were both commercial failures. The budget-line reissue from Rhino Flashback features remastered sound.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Hello Big Man on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top