SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range


Album: Hendra
# Song Title   Time
1)    Hendra
2)    Forget
3)    Spring
4)    Golden Ratio
5)    Matthew Arnold's Field
6)    Gun, The
7)    Nathaniel
8)    Levels, The
9)    Young Man's Game
10)    Heart Is a Mirror, The
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Audio Mixer: Bruno Ellingham.
  • Recording information: Air, London, UK (09/2013-11/2013); Eastcote, London, UK (09/2013-11/2013); Northern Heights, London, UK (09/2013-11/2013); The Square, London, UK (09/2013-11/2013); World Of Apples, Berlin, Germany (09/2013-11/2013).
  • Photographer: Edward Bishop .
  • Calling Hendra Ben Watt's first solo album in 31 years is true but it's also misleading. Watt was always active during those three decades, devoting himself first to Everything But the Girl -- the duo he had with his wife Tracey Thorn -- and once that group came to a creative end around the turn of the millennium (the pair remained married), he steadily worked as a DJ, sometimes releasing dance compilation albums, while also authoring the acclaimed 1996 book Patient. Of these two endeavors, Patient may be the closest touchstone to Hendra, Watt's 2014 album, as the record is hushed and intimate, often suggesting not so much a confessional as a quiet, impassioned conversation with an old friend. There's no hint of dance music, which isn't to say Hendra is devoid of rhythm. Watt dabbles with bossa nova and often follows a pleasingly relaxed pop shuffle, the kind of pattern that enlivens a sweet melody without distracting from it. Throughout Hendra, Watt achieves this delicate balance, preserving a sense of tranquility that's never monotonous. Often, it feels as if there are no more than two musicians on a given track, a claim that is occasionally true but this speaks more to the intimacy of Watt and his handful of collaborators, usually producer Ewan Pearson and guitarist Bernard Butler, than it does to the actual arrangements. David Gilmour comes in to color "The Levels" and he manages not to overwhelm and even surprises, avoiding textures and phrases that have become signatures, functioning as a painter, not a featured artist. This speaks to the careful craft of Hendra: every element is in the right place but Watt is smart enough to leave some elements undone, giving the album a human heart that's evident no matter how deliberate the entire affair may be. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone - 3.5 stars out of 5 -- "The songs occupy their own modern spaces with a raging peacefulness."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Hendra on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top