Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

This 1974 LP was Mac's first to go Top 40 it would not be their last. Their hooks were getting sharper all the time-cheque out Coming Home Prove Your Love Come a Little Bit Closer Silver Heels Safe Harbour , and more!
  • Genre: Popular Music
  • Fleetwood Mac - Heroes Are Hard to Find [CD]
Album: Heroes Are Hard to Find
# Song Title   Time
1)    Heroes Are Hard to Find
2)    Coming Home
3)    Angel
4)    Bermuda Triangle
5)    Come a Little Bit Closer
6)    She's Changing Me
7)    Bad Loser
8)    Silver Heels
9)    Prove Your Love
10)    Born Enchanter
11)    Safe Harbour
Product Details


Performer Notes
  • Fleetwood Mac: Bob Welch (vocals, guitar, vibraphone); Christine McVie (vocals, keyboards, Arp string synthesizer); John McVie (bass); Mick Fleetwood (drums, percussion).
  • Additional personnel: Pete Kleinow (pedal steel guitar).
  • Recorded at Angel City Sound, Los Angeles, California in July 1974.
  • When Fleetwood Mac cut 1974's HEROES ARE HARD TO FIND, the band had been winnowed down to a quartet. American singer-songwriter Bob Welch rounded out the British trio of John McVie, Mick Fleetwood and Christine McVie. Having just won a court battle with an old manager to keep the rights to the band's name, the Mac recorded eleven songs that took them far beyond their blues roots. Welch and Christine McVie split all the songwriting and the result was a record populated by murky songs (Welch's "Angel," and "Bermuda Triangle") with occasional shards of wry optimism shining through (the title track and "Come A Little Bit Closer," both penned by McVie).
  • McVie and Welch occasionally swapped places. Welch gives his normally drawling vocals a brighter, Beach Boyish tone on "She's Changing Me" and Christine McVie takes the mike for the sinister rumblings of "Bad Loser." HEROES was Welch's last album with Fleetwood Mac, and the brooding style of singing and composing that he brought to the group helped redefine its sound, paving the way for Lindsey Buckingham and Stevie Nicks, who joined the Mac on their next album.
Professional Reviews
Q (7/93, p.106) - 3 Stars - Good - "...the experimental side [of the band] continues to appeal, with some songs almost sketches--melodic murmurs in the murk of dense, moody guitars and lyrics dealing with dreams, spells and mysteries. An understated but still interesting sideshow..."
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Heroes Are Hard to Find on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top