SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The Heroin Diaries Soundtrack [10th Anniversary Edition] [CD/DVD]

Album: The Heroin Diaries Soundtrack [10th Anniversary Edition] [CD/DVD]
# Song Title   Time
1)    X-Mas in Hell
2)    Van Nuys
3)    Life Is Beautiful
4)    Pray for Me
5)    Tomorrow
6)    Accidents Can Happen
7)    Intermission
8)    Dead Man's Ballet
9)    Heart Failure
10)    Girl With Golden Eyes
11)    Courtesy Call
12)    Permission
13)    Life After Death
14)    Life Is Beautiful 2017
15)    Accidents Can Happen 2017
16)    Girl With Golden Eyes 2017
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: DJ Ashba, James Michael, Nikki Sixx (keyboards, programming); Melissa Harding (background vocals).
  • Audio Mixer: James Michael.
  • Recording information: Red Level Three Studios, Los Angeles, CA.
  • Now, this is an interesting album! Designed as a companion piece to Mtley Cre bassist/songwriter Nikki Sixx's autobiography, The Heroin Diaries Soundtrack -- based on journals he kept during the peak of his drug abuse in the '80s, now supplemented by commentary by his friends and the man himself -- is a genuinely odd and oddly moving record, a weird pileup of pained spoken word diary entries, operatic metal, L.A. sleaze, grimy electro-industrial beats, the stray power ballad, and circus music, all delivered by Sixx's new band, Sixx: A.M., which is fronted by vocalist James Michael, who also produced and wrote the album with Sixx. Musically, this album exists out of time -- it certainly doesn't sound like a throwback to the Cre and, despite the echoes of She Wants Revenge on "Pray for Me," it doesn't sound modern, either. In that sense, The Heroin Diaries Soundtrack is the product of a true, distinctive artistic vision -- one that might not be coherent, but it's certainly compelling, both in its open-wound honesty and often baffling mash-ups of styles. Even if Sixx: A.M. dabble in modern textures here, this never sounds like a desperate attempt to sound modern, since everything in this music is designed to mirror Sixx's voyage into heroin hell. It's a concept album and, as such, it plays as an extended suite instead of a collection of songs, but that's the appeal of this record: it's an art rock confessional, quite unlike anything Sixx -- or anyone else, for that matter -- has done before. Which means that even if The Heroin Diaries Soundtrack isn't quite to your specific tastes -- it might be too gloomy for Cre fans -- it nevertheless is hard not to admire the risks Nikki Sixx takes on this record, or the strange success he achieves here, either. [A 10th Anniversary Edition of The Heroin Diaries Soundtrack was released in 2017. The CD/DVD edition included three "re-imagined" audio tracks plus a "making of" documentary and music videos for "Life Is Beautiful," "Tomorrow," "Pray for Me," and "Accidents Can Happen."] ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Heroin Diaries Soundtrack [10th Anniversary Edition] [CD/DVD] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top